PDA

View Full Version : Ambient Occlusion


sidiggas
02-13-2006, 08:22 PM
Where exactly is the ambient occlusion texture located in the Maya 7.0 interface; I can't seem to find it. And how do I render it serperately, or together with the FG pass. In other words, how do I set up passes to render together and seperately?

Thanks

jeremybirn
02-14-2006, 07:11 PM
Easiest way: in Render Layers, right-click on any layer and occlusion is one of the presets. You only need to adjust the texture to set appropriate distance and samples.

The texture is under the "Mental Ray" section.

-jeremy

sidiggas
02-14-2006, 08:38 PM
Thanks a lot, but, shouldn't I see the mib_amb_occlusion shader on the materials menu in the hyperhsade or on the menu off the toolbar??


Simon

jeremybirn
02-14-2006, 09:05 PM
Thanks a lot, but, shouldn't I see the mib_amb_occlusion shader on the materials menu in the hyperhsade or on the menu off the toolbar??


Simon

It is a texture, not a material/shader itself, but yes if you look under textures.

-jeremy

CGTalk Moderation
02-14-2006, 09:05 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.