PDA

View Full Version : Workability


zoc
02-13-2006, 02:40 PM
hi men...
i'm trying to see this file

FILE (http://forums.creativecow.net/cgi-bin/new_page_wrapper.cgi?forumid=1&page=http://www.creativecow.net/articles/oneil_bill/shadows2/index.html)

I open it, but i don't know how to work with it, like such other files, even the one i usualy create.
The problem is that the machine is too slow!! but i have 2 giga of ram and double processor.
I put preview for every layer and quarter... but is all very difficult to understand if what i'm doing is wright or not...

:( thanks!

JohnnyRandom
02-13-2006, 05:19 PM
What do you mean by "slow". Do you mean it won't playback in real-time?

All but the simplest projects require at least a ram preview to playback in real-time. Even if you turn the viewport resolution down to a quarter (it will just render faster).

The file you describe is moderately intensive, all of the layers are 3d (a good opengl card would help a bit).

zoc
02-13-2006, 05:26 PM
yes i like work with light and 3d leyer... but the time i spent is over and over the budget!!
so do you think the only thing i can do is a good open GL card?.... i start thinking about it...
I've got GeForce 5200... :(

JohnnyRandom
02-13-2006, 06:14 PM
A geforce 5200 is a pretty decent card as I recall. I would see what the latest Adobe spec drivers are and make sure you have them before investing any money.

Your card is on the list. The latest driver supported driver is 77.56

http://www.adobe.com/products/aftereffects/opengl.html

See if that helps at all.

another thing you can do...

Pre-compose intensive layers, If you have a few layers that are processor intensive (IE moving lights with shadows) pre-compose them into their own compostion and render out that composition. Then setup a proxy to that rendered file. This will help significantly.
These comps will then run off disk which is better than telling after effects to re-calculate everything.

zoc
02-14-2006, 09:19 AM
Thanks a lot!
There's no drivers for OSX :(
I think I'm going to try proxies!
thanks...

CGTalk Moderation
02-14-2006, 09:19 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.