PDA

View Full Version : gargoyle

ha-dou-ken
02-11-2006, 12:12 PM
hey everyone. I am a student of the arts. This is first stab at a full realistic(ish) character. Its supposed to be gargoyle. I'm practicing my topology and would appreciate any pointers, c&c, and suggestions regarding proportion, flow, density and the such. I have been reading many discussions in the topology thread and am trying to take the advice there. thank you so much for any replies.

ha-dou-ken
02-11-2006, 01:35 PM
heres a small update on the shoulder. I think it's cleaner now.

ha-dou-ken
02-15-2006, 04:06 AM
another update

cwest
02-15-2006, 04:57 AM
Great work so far, it's pretty solid work. Generally I would prefer making a seperated loop structure for the pectoral muscles and from that you can focus on making the loop flow into the underarm/shoulder reigon a bit better. You might also want to include some loop areas for the shoulders as well and puff em up. You have a pretty good grasp on muscle modeling, so far keep it up :D

goulei
02-15-2006, 05:09 AM
well....good

ha-dou-ken
02-16-2006, 12:05 AM
Thanks cal, I appreciate the pointers. I should mention that my main source of inspiration is a character from the old cartoon show Gargoyles. The main character (Goliath i think) is what I was hoping to ahieve as far as proportion goes. As far as anatomical accuracy is concerned, I dare not strive for hyperrealsim but somewhere along the lines of pixars The Incredibles(sans the badassness). I will post more soon when an update is worthy.:D

oh ya, he will have wings too so I must consider that. This will also allow me to hide some of the anatomical errors on the back area. Whew!

ha-dou-ken
03-20-2006, 11:33 PM
Sorry for the lack of posts in a while. I have been working on the arms some more. Not a lot of free time though with school and work and Street Fighter Tournaments. My biggest concern at this point is the arm/shoulder joint and the forearm. Any suggestions? What am I doing wrong?