PDA

View Full Version : AE not importing .iff images


suradtaylor
02-11-2006, 12:58 AM
I'm trying to load a sequence of Maya .iff images and I get the following error message:
"After Effects error: Photoshop file format error 1. (45 :: 35)"
What is the work around for this without having to rerender the sequence in .tif?,

then, I also noticed that .tif files are darker in ae. How do I solve this problem?

leonfcs
02-11-2006, 01:22 AM
try to re export the sequence from fcheck.

león

tb582
02-11-2006, 01:24 AM
What version of AE are you running, to my understanding only AE. 6.5 and above supports Maya's IFF format, Why don't you want to render out as Tif or Targa?

suradtaylor
02-11-2006, 01:44 AM
i use ae6.5, then how do i handle the issue of .tif images appearing darker in ae?

tb582
02-11-2006, 02:19 AM
i use ae6.5, then how do i handle the issue of .tif images appearing darker in ae?

How much darker are you taking about, can we get a couple of before and after screen shots? Have you imported one of the ae images into ps and used the eye dropper (or even in AE) to get the color values?

Mylenium
02-11-2006, 08:21 AM
i use ae6.5, then how do i handle the issue of .tif images appearing darker in ae?

How do you render? Do you use Maya 7? If so, you need to convert your IFFs first in fcheck. There has been a slight change in the IFF savers in Maya to accomodate for MentalRay (it uses a new flag bit) and AE won't load these files. you tiffs will appear darker because they will be assigned a default color space (sRGB) and AE will take that into account, IFFs just don't have any color space information and are interpreted as ScreenRGB.

Mylenium

suradtaylor
02-11-2006, 10:57 PM
Thanks alot :thumbsup: , it works well after using fcheck to convert. Colour is ok too.

Shayder
02-13-2006, 04:24 PM
I use Maya 7.0 and after effects 6.5 and I can import .iffs into AE without using the F-check way. I have never had a problem, but I don't render using Mental ray. So the native renderer shouldn't give you problems.

beaker
02-13-2006, 07:03 PM
it's a known AE issue.

I use .sgi or .exr files for everything. Less compatibility issues then tiff always has with different apps. They create the smallest lossless compression on files and support up to 32 bit per channel.

suradtaylor
02-16-2006, 01:35 AM
Thanks for that, beaker

cheung0402
02-26-2006, 06:43 AM
I can import .iff to AE 6.5 but not 6.0

DangerAhead
08-25-2006, 02:16 AM
I can't get Mental Ray .iff files to read in After Effects 7.0. Any work around?

I like the EXR file format, but the file size is 2X. All I need is the alpha channel and I really don't want to open FCheck everytime I render from Mental Ray. it's a pain in butt and After Effects should support this by now. am I right?

hospadam
08-25-2006, 04:53 AM
AE 6.5 and 7 have a known issue when importing a Maya IFF image that was rendered using Mental Ray.

AE can handle a Maya IFF image that was rendered with the other renderes however.

To solve the Mental Ray IFF issue, just use the Fcheck re-export. It takes extra time, but that's t he only thing I know to fix it, if you want to use Mental Ray and IFF's.

CGTalk Moderation
08-25-2006, 04:53 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.