PDA

View Full Version : switch from FinalRender to Advanced Renderer?

fuller
02-10-2006, 11:41 AM
Hello,

A couple of months ago it seemed like a good idea to order FinalRender (the Mac version).

Now that i actually starded using Cinema 4D on an everyday basis, i'm starting to have doubts, wandering whether AR would be better for what i have to do.
I am doing archaeological reconstructions, but there are going to be a lot of texture/camera animation plus morphing the buildings to different stages.
I have to reconstruct 5-7 small buildings (about 50 000polys each), and a hillside with trees etc (i have DPIT for this)
I 'only' have a dual 1.25 powermac, and no other slaves to help the calculations.

I'm a beginner on a tight budget, thight deadline, and i need to to make the 'perfect decision...

The sources of my doubts:

- Could it be that even FinalRender's ultrafast GI would be too time consuming for my hardware?
- I was testing the Sky in the DEMO version, i really liked the way it lit the buildings.
- I am not looking for photographic reality, more like animated 3D illustration. For this reason i even prefer Maxon's more CG-like look.
- I could even just use the LUMEN plugin from 3DATTACK, and some Ambient Occlusion (or even without AO). Could it be faster?
- One of the principal visual effect is animated with the Proximal shader-effect, and it is perfect for what i need. This is not available in FinalRender. Is it difficult to recreate?
- Does FinalRender integrate with After Effects as well as Advanced Renderer?
- FinalRender only supports LAN network rendering. Does Maxon's Net Renderer support rendering over Internet (with the clients having dynamic IPs but the host has a fix address)? I could set up some slaves from the main office which is many kilometers away.
- FinalRender for Mac is still not yet finished, though the rendering phase is about 1.5 months away for me too, i am still modelling.