PDA

View Full Version : how to search ?


Armin
12-10-2002, 08:01 AM
hi fellas...
how we can have the "search" ability in
a flash?

mohh
12-10-2002, 11:54 AM
It depends on what you want to make searchable. I recently made an application that originally pulled all of its data from a database. I had to make it work without the database because it was going to get distributed on DVD. This thing was basically a collection of plants and all of it's attributes were searchable. It even had a text search feature where the user could type in a word and search for that particular plant. It was all done by writting an ASP page to create an XML page from the information on the database.

It was then a matter of parsing the XML file and coding the search engine. Now if you want to make every single word on your site searchable, I haven't a clue...

Armin
12-10-2002, 08:14 PM
yeh thanx, actually i wana know
if possible to have the search , full in flash not depended on
other database forms ,or not...
if not :
ok no problem, i'll change my question,
imagine there is a flash site with many articles in it
and you'v made a place for input text in there for searching,
flash will pick the text wich some user have typed and send it
to a ASP, and of course the ASP will found the matches,
but can the ASP send the answer back to flash again....
i don't want the user see another page(ASP).

is it possible?
[sorry for bad english ]

Armin,

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 12:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.