PDA

View Full Version : Marquee with mouse tool


d3coy
02-08-2006, 01:02 PM
Hi all,
I was wondering if there is a way to easily display a marquee with a mouse tool--the mouse tool function can return the viewpoint (point2 loc of mouse in viewport), but I can't find a function to display a marquee in the reference. The script I'm working on has two mouse clicks involved, one that gets the start position and one that gets the end position.

Bobo
02-08-2006, 02:19 PM
Hi all,
I was wondering if there is a way to easily display a marquee with a mouse tool--the mouse tool function can return the viewpoint (point2 loc of mouse in viewport), but I can't find a function to display a marquee in the reference. The script I'm working on has two mouse clicks involved, one that gets the start position and one that gets the end position.


Take a look at the gw. drawing methods. These allow you to draw graphic primitives and text staight to the viewport.

d3coy
02-11-2006, 06:59 PM
Thanks Bobo,

With drawing the polyline -- since it requires point3 data and I'm wanting to go off of point2 derived from the viewpoint in a mousetool, I'm running into a problem in the conversion. Anytime I send point3's to the gw methods, it uses the currently active viewport's transform matrix. Is there a way I can override this and supply my own matrix? I've tried using the mapscreentoview function, but again, this only supplies point3's using the current transform matrix. Running into a wall here! Been at it for a few days -- I've only been able to draw my polyline in the top view successfully since this viewport inately has the necessary transform matrix (matrix3 [1,0,0] [0,1,0] [0,0,1] [0,0,0]). Even though it draws here, there're strange things involving the updating of it. gw.updatescreen() doesn't seem to work all the time?

Bobo
02-12-2006, 02:56 AM
Thanks Bobo,

With drawing the polyline -- since it requires point3 data and I'm wanting to go off of point2 derived from the viewpoint in a mousetool, I'm running into a problem in the conversion. Anytime I send point3's to the gw methods, it uses the currently active viewport's transform matrix. Is there a way I can override this and supply my own matrix? I've tried using the mapscreentoview function, but again, this only supplies point3's using the current transform matrix. Running into a wall here! Been at it for a few days -- I've only been able to draw my polyline in the top view successfully since this viewport inately has the necessary transform matrix (matrix3 [1,0,0] [0,1,0] [0,0,1] [0,0,0]). Even though it draws here, there're strange things involving the updating of it. gw.updatescreen() doesn't seem to work all the time?




(
global testMarquee
try(destroyDialog testMarquee)catch()
rollout testMarquee "Marquee Test"
(
local theLine = #()
checkbox enableIt "Enable"
timer theTimer interval:50 active:false
button resetLine "Reset"

on enableIt changed state do theTimer.active = state
on resetLine pressed do theLine = #()

on theTimer tick do
(
if mouse.buttonStates[1] == true then
(
thePos = mouse.pos
append theLine [thePos.x, thePos.y, 0]
gw.setTransform (viewport.getTM())
gw.wpolyLine theLine false
gw.enlargeUpdateRect #whole
gw.updateScreen()
)
else
theLine = #()
)
)
createDialog testMarquee
)

First, set the transformation matrix to the TM of the current view.
Then draw the polyline, enlarge the update rectange to the whole screen and update the screen. It is a good idea to set the driver to "Redraw On Windows Expose" for clean results.

Start the tool, check the checkbox, click in a viewport and drag while holding the left mouse button pressed.

d3coy
02-12-2006, 06:50 AM
Awesome, thanks again Bobo. I incorporated it into a render region tool:


tool getRegion
(
local firstcoord
local secondcoord
local viewsize
local finalregion
local marquee = #(0, 0, 0, 0)

on mousepoint clickno do
(
if clickno == 1 do
(
viewsize = getviewsize()
firstcoord = viewpoint
marquee[1] = [viewpoint.x, viewpoint.y, 0]
)

if clickno == 2 do
(
secondcoord = viewpoint
if firstcoord.x > secondcoord.x do
(
local fx = firstcoord.x
local sx = secondcoord.x
firstcoord.x = sx
secondcoord.x = fx
)
if firstcoord.y > secondcoord.y do
(
local fy = firstcoord.y
local sy = secondcoord.y
firstcoord.y = sy
secondcoord.y = fy
)
finalregion = box2 firstcoord.x firstcoord.y (secondcoord.x - firstcoord.x) (secondcoord.y - firstcoord.y)
render outputwidth:viewsize.x outputheight:viewsize.y rendertype:#regioncrop region:finalregion
stoptool getRegion
)
)

on mousemove clickno do
(
completeredraw()
gw.setcolor #line (color 125 175 255)
marquee[3] = [viewpoint.x, viewpoint.y, 0]
marquee[2] = [marquee[1].x, marquee[3].y, 0]
marquee[4] = [marquee[3].x, marquee[1].y, 0]
gw.settransform(viewport.gettm())
gw.wpolyline marquee true
gw.enlargeupdaterect #whole
gw.updatescreen()
)
)


The completeredraw in there slows things down quite a lot -- is there possibly a way to clear the previously created polylines yet still retain the geometry underneath so the user can see what they are marquee'ing? I tried a few methods -- I suppose I could just keep the ghosting lines there and just clean them up after the tool ends.

CGTalk Moderation
02-12-2006, 06:50 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.