PDA

View Full Version : Animation: Blue Skies

Krystman
12-10-2002, 12:35 AM
Yay, my firt Post! :bounce:

Alright, I've just done this music video here, c&c please. Please keep in mind that I'm rather new to CG so don't expect Blizzard style or something.

As you will see, the video is done completly with a cartoon shader. I've tryed to immitate a traditional 2d hand-drawn anime. ^_^

Oh and the sound at the beginning is a bit messed-up by the compression. I wonder why, maybe it's such an unusual song :shrug:

http://www.schulseiten.de/viko2002/bluskies.avi
or
http://www.neon-hq.net/bluskies.avi
(DivX 5.2 - 15mb)

yobarman
12-10-2002, 01:04 AM
very nice... i thought it was handdrawn until i read the post..

btw i love the way you made the explosions when the rockets are shot from the ships.

slime
12-10-2002, 02:12 AM
Wow. Great work! Congratulations!!

Some scenes were absolutely fantastic. The camera and movement is great in some scenes, but I saw some flaws that downs the quality of the video.

First of all, I think it should be shorter. Some scenes in the middle and second part were a little redundant. I suppose that you wanted to use the Tori Amos song son adapted the lenght that way, but I think about 33% shorter would be better.
Some scenes are static. Even if the camera is still, something should be making the impression of movement, when the backgrounds are so simple. (ie, clouds moving, some wind in the earth, etc). The backgrounds weren't very good either. Some of them matched very good, but with good backgrounds the video could be a lot better. The last thing is the post procesing. When the ship crosses the sun, the effect is not very good. With propper post processing, (slow motion, darkening the ship, putting a halo, moving the flare, etc) would be better.

Anyway, it was a pleasure to watch. Very good work!

Regards.

Daniel.

Tex
12-10-2002, 02:41 AM