PDA

View Full Version : particles 'n' stuff in messiah

ZenTarzan
02-07-2006, 10:37 PM
i have a dilemma. i recently bought messiah, but i havent used it extensively at all. i dont own a production license of any other software (im a student). i just got handed a job, to produce some cg shots for a documentary on city water systems, so i need to be able to do some decent effects. does messiah have anything remotely usable in this field? and what would be some good, relatively cheap, easy to learn, alternatives... for say, simulating water. also, can the renderer handle that kind of stuff, i know some of those guys can do some amazing stuff, but it is afterall character animation software. basically can someone give me a good software line up to do production quality cg with a fast learning curve. also im looking at silo as a modeler, any opinions?

stooch
02-07-2006, 10:46 PM
good luck with water simulation. lol maybe blender?

definitelly look into a modeler, wings3d, LW, modo

i would go with LW personally, it has particles and hypervoxels for your water needs. its no realflow or scanline but should be adequate. i wouldnt even bother with messiah unless you want to do character animation or something.

ZenTarzan
02-07-2006, 11:16 PM
ya, i got messiah only with the intention of doing character animation... what about the basic version of xsi? does it have enough as far as simulation? i dont need anything ground breaking, i just need to achieve 'documentary' diagram sort of stuff. is the learning curve really steep with xsi? im mostly a max user now, but thats resulted in nothing but hatred. i really want to use messiah as much as possible, just cause it looks wonderful, and id rather spend my time learning it in and out than learning something else as well, but i do realize it was by no means intended for something like this.

stooch
02-07-2006, 11:31 PM