PDA

View Full Version : OT: unbiased-GI render Indigo released for free!


michaeli
02-07-2006, 03:45 AM
http://www.bennolan.com/nick/montecarlo/sponza_mltsun.jpg

Not bad for a 10~20 hours render !





http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/6313/im1139253257tonemapped8mb.png

rendertime: 1h 45min




homepage: http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/nickamy/index.html

download: http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/nickamy/indigo.html

forum: http://www.flipcode.dxbug.com/board.php?forum=9

hightillidie
02-07-2006, 04:19 AM
So this is a free ray tracer(a renderer?) that can process c4d files? if it is awesome. If its not please explain :shrug:

STRAT
02-07-2006, 09:46 AM
insane render times

looks more or less a maxwell spinoff

christianS
02-07-2006, 09:56 AM
Well it reads .3ds-files as far as i remember, so you can use it with C4d. There is some system integrated to overwrite Materials, but i haven't tested the program yet.
I hope i find some time today so i can check it.

As for the "Maxwell spinoff", ther was already a discussion on that (in an other thread). MLT is just one option of this engine, and one, that many people like (And Maxwell was not the first MLT-engine). There are all kinds of GI-algorithms included in this engine.

Chris

moka.studio
02-07-2006, 03:12 PM
Well it reads .3ds-files as far as i remember, so you can use it with C4d. There is some system integrated to overwrite Materials, but i haven't tested the program yet.
I hope i find some time today so i can check it.

As for the "Maxwell spinoff", ther was already a discussion on that (in an other thread). MLT is just one option of this engine, and one, that many people like (And Maxwell was not the first MLT-engine). There are all kinds of GI-algorithms included in this engine.

Chris

Hi Christian,
let us know what it is like/ post some results when you get a chance to play with it, I would be interested to know how this renderer behaves

StefanB
02-07-2006, 03:33 PM
I tried to render a simple scene with a sphere and a polygon.
The only thing I got was a crash while "doing initial warmup..."
Does someone had suxess using a 3ds file exported by C4D?

MrBraun
02-07-2006, 04:21 PM
If have right undertstand, is necessary to save one scene into xml format and name it "scene.xml" !

I have tried to export from cinema this format, but , nothing ! ;)

If anyone have a trick ? :D (p.s. Sorry for my poor english! ) ;)

christianS
02-07-2006, 05:05 PM
Hey

Well, for me it works. Teh Exe takes the fike called "infile.txt". This file specifies the scene to be rendered (in this case "scene.xml") and it specifies settings for the rendering process.
Simply start the exe and it renders the file
If you use the file like it was included, the scene is rendered using MLT. The first image is rendered very fast. it is very grainy, but you get an idea what it will look like later. But then the progress is very slow.
If you change

"metropolis" "1"

to

"metropolis" "0"

the scene will be rendered using Pathtracing. This renders the frame in small blocks and is definatly faster than MLT. But current settings produce artefacts. It is not ready yet, but it looks like the third image on this thread:
http://www.flipcode.dxbug.com/board.php?topic=55

Maybe this could be improved with other settings. I'll have a look at it.

As for custom scenes, i doubt this xml-format is indentical with cinema's (btw it is gone with r9.1). But the format looks pretty easy. So maybe someone is going to write an exporter... :)
But on his main page he said several times he uses 3ds. Maybe i can simply use a 3ds in the infile.txt

christianS
02-07-2006, 05:41 PM
Ok, xml-export is still there, my fault. But it looks completly different to indigos xml, as expected.
So 3ds is the way to go.
And it is possible. Have a look at sponza.xml, it includes the name of a 3ds. Simply put the name of your 3ds in there. You have to change the paths in localinifile.txt, the path should not be specified in the xml. Then change the xml-file in the infile.txt.
That's basically it. It will only work if your objects have materials (my first testscene crashed as you might expect).
Now the renderer should take the file. But all i got is a black image. I am pretty sure that is because the xml specifies a camera, so the renderer ignores the camera in the file. This means i have to set the camera by hand :-/

Erith
02-09-2006, 01:48 PM
A great renderer... it's a pity that the exporter is too old. The XML for indigo is the new (not so new) X3D format where the script is much similar to HTML.
I hope Maxon or someone else will as soon as possible make avaible a new exporter!

christianS
02-09-2006, 03:14 PM
Well, the exporter is not old...
Cinemas xml-export has nothing to do with x3d, it is just for output of debug information for developers.
If you want to go with X3D, there are converters for vrml->x3d (x3d is based on vrml).
But i think 3ds may be as good as x3d in this case. The renderer reads per deffault 3ds-files, so i doubt it would read more information if the xml-files transport the geometry.
A plugin for cinema would just have to export those additional informations to the xml-file (camera, rendersettings etc., maybe even material overwrite), the geometry could be exported using 3ds.
Just a suggestion.

A small tip: Somebody over at c4d-treff.de mentioned, that it is easier to work with 3ds-files if they are scaled with 0.01

Chris

BlackLizard
02-18-2006, 04:29 PM
Hi everybody,
here it is the first version of my plugin exporter for Indigo Render (PC only),
(infos in readme.txt):

http://www.bytejuggler.com/CinemaPlugins/Indigo/IndigoExporter.0.1.zip

I developed it with C4D v9, please check if it works also in 8.5+ versions.

Here you find also a small video tutorial (9MB) on how to define materials:
http://www.bytejuggler.com/CinemaPlugins/Indigo/IndigoC4D_Materials.zip
Please forgive my English :) - If interested I can do more tuts on poly objects and DOF

Byez,
BlackLizard

christianS
02-18-2006, 05:54 PM
Very cool

I'll check it tomorrow, but it looks good from your video. It's good someone started working on a plug for indigo, so i do not have to dig into the API again :) (i am so lazy sometimes, but at the moment i have enough c++ over the week).

Chris

c-hri
02-18-2006, 06:59 PM
Hi everybody,
here it is the first version of my plugin exporter for Indigo Render (PC only),
(infos in readme.txt):

http://www.bytejuggler.com/CinemaPlugins/Indigo/IndigoExporter.0.1.zip

I developed it with C4D v9, please check if it works also in 8.5+ versions.

Here you find also a small video tutorial (9MB) on how to define materials:
http://www.bytejuggler.com/CinemaPlugins/Indigo/IndigoC4D_Materials.zip
Please forgive my English :) - If interested I can do more tuts on poly objects and DOF

Byez,
BlackLizard

Very nice exporter plug, BlackLizard. And thanks for the tutorial, too.
Although I haven't managed to export other primitives than planes and spheres. I would by very interested in further tuts on poly / DOF issues!

thanks & cheers,

c)hri

BlackLizard
02-19-2006, 01:50 PM
Hi all,
I'll do a tut on geom, dof and light support.
Here's a link for v9.1 users, the previous version seemed to work only on v9.521:

http://www.bytejuggler.com/CinemaPlugins/Indigo/IndigoExporter.0.3.zip
Also with some fix to better handle 3ds export

New videos:
http://www.bytejuggler.com/CinemaPlugins/Indigo/IndigoC4D_Objects.zip
http://www.bytejuggler.com/CinemaPlugins/Indigo/IndigoC4D_Boole.zip
http://www.bytejuggler.com/CinemaPlugins/Indigo/IndigoC4D_DOF.zip
http://www.bytejuggler.com/CinemaPlugins/Indigo/IndigoC4D_Lights.zip

Byez,
BlackLizard

MrBraun
02-20-2006, 07:50 AM
Really great !! Tnx for sharing !! ;)

Micha1138
05-14-2006, 01:30 PM
HI folks,

INDIGO keeps to thrive and grow into a great external rendering solution for Cinema4D.

The main page can now be reached via [/url][url="http://www.indigorender.com"]www.indigorender.com (http://www.indigiorender.com)

It now supports image-based lighting, bidirectional MLT raytracing, and other neat stuff.

The necessary plugin for C4D is also available through a link on the site.

Just a heads up for you guys and gals that have been looking for a neat MLT rayracer to do fun stuff with.

Michael

EDIT : Typo corrected, now it works.

lllab
05-14-2006, 02:48 PM
great news micha!

there is a typo in your link, remoce the "o" in the middle then it woeks...
cheers
stefan

VestanPance
05-14-2006, 03:10 PM
Site seems to be down.

Micha1138
05-14-2006, 04:42 PM
Site seems to be down.

Sorry, my fault, the link works after correcting it ;)

Michael

VestanPance
05-14-2006, 04:45 PM
Ah yeah, thanks. Should have read further eh? ;)

DarkFlite
05-23-2006, 12:21 AM
Those are some awesome results, but the render times are out of this world. I'd need to put together a new system before playing with it.

On the other hand, I have been looking for an excuse to build a multi-core workstation...

Micha1138
05-23-2006, 03:09 PM
Those are some awesome results, but the render times are out of this world. I'd need to put together a new system before playing with it.

On the other hand, I have been looking for an excuse to build a multi-core workstation...

HEy DF,

now you are overexaggerating a little ;)

Rendertimes IMO are quite reasonable, now that bidirectional RT has been implemented. Doesnīt work yet with HDRīs but its still okay.
And since Nick implemented that new setting to "bias" the renderer if wanted, you get nice images without too many of those nasty white dots in a good amount of time. A little postwork with NeatImage, and presto ! Finished image !

Even with my meagerly equipped system (a laptop with AMD2400+ and 1Gig Ram) I get nice results.

This cooked for 1h, original size 1200*900, no postwork
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v437/ManfromNaboo/Kopievonim1148217087_tonemapped_fil.jpg


Michael

DarkFlite
05-24-2006, 06:45 AM
No offense intended - any excuse to put together some new kit is a good excuse in my book!


The sample renders done in C4D are all great, but they do list render times of 12-24 hours and that is with superior gear to what I'm using now. (Which is a laptop, and I can't afford to tie it up for that long since I need it for work.)

But I'm not going to let that stop me from DLing the latest build and giving it a spin, it looks really cool. I'm dying to try making a diamond or a new version of my D20 icon.

Micha1138
05-24-2006, 08:54 AM
No offense intended - any excuse to put together some new kit is a good excuse in my book!


Definitely none taken ;)


But I'm not going to let that stop me from DLing the latest build and giving it a spin, it looks really cool. I'm dying to try making a diamond or a new version of my D20 icon.


You might want to try running Indigo with a lowered process priority in the background, this works really well for me, especially when I have to work in other applications as well.

Hope to see you back over at the indigo forum sometime soon with that new logo done in INdigo !

Take care,
Michael

donjorge
05-28-2006, 11:47 PM
i just wanted to know if there is something for mac

Micha1138
06-09-2006, 10:53 AM
Hi DonJorge,

unfortunately, nothing for Mac yet :-(

But a new Version of Indigo is out, and over at www.bytejuggler.com you can find the new and improved exporter.

Michael

Micha1138
04-26-2007, 04:37 PM
Hi folks,

unfortunately the original exporter author BlackLizard has disappeared from the face of the Earth, leaving us sorry sobs hanging out there without an exporter that makes use of Indigos everimproving new versions.

But lucky us, there is one heroic individual named "fused" over at the indigo forum who took the task to tackle this topic and he kind of reinvented the wheel, giving us a new chance to work with Indigo.

Indigo has gotten faster and more stable, bugs have been eliminated, and there is this great website !!!

So, just swing over to www.indigorenderer.com and check it out !

And here is a direct link to the exporter to spare you lazy bunch the dires of a search ;)
http://www2.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/download.php?id=569

Have fun !!!

Michael

SerJoseph
04-26-2007, 05:22 PM
Hi Micha, you've wrote "even for Mac-users", but I'm not be able to find out it!
Where it is?
Thanks in advance.

Bye

Micha1138
04-26-2007, 05:46 PM
Hey Joseph,

sorry, maybe I was a bit too fast, but if you go through the thread you will find fused talking about the release of a Mac-exporter.

Michael

Hi Micha, you've wrote "even for Mac-users", but I'm not be able to find out it!
Where it is?
Thanks in advance.

Bye

georgedrakakis
04-26-2007, 07:37 PM
hi,
can someone post a start_scene using the new exporter?
i have troubles exporting to indigo 0.7.5
(something about meshes and mats that are not defined)

tia,
george

Micha1138
04-26-2007, 07:52 PM
hi,
can someone post a start_scene using the new exporter?
i have troubles exporting to indigo 0.7.5
tia,
george

Hi George,

recheck the thread, there is a sample scene posted somewhere a few posts up the thread. And remember, in contrast to the old exporter you have to start indigo by hand ! You might have to edit the Indigo batch file "inifile.txt" that starts the rendering so that it finds the scene !

Michael

georgedrakakis
04-26-2007, 08:59 PM
tnx Micha1138.
i got the scene file and i also found a tip to avoid using "." in material's name. that caused all the "mat not defined" trouble.

pzdm
04-27-2007, 08:21 AM
tnx Micha1138.
i got the scene file and i also found a tip to avoid using "." in material's name. that caused all the "mat not defined" trouble.

Hi there, I have a very similer problem as well, I have there still an unexpected error with objects or backgrounds etc....

P

okazaky
04-27-2007, 10:59 AM
The latest exporter comes with a sample file, this could help you ;)
You can find it here (http://www2.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1373)

Best regards,
okazaky

moka.studio
04-27-2007, 05:11 PM
A question about Indigo>
does it already support distributed rendering for single images?

paulselhi
04-28-2007, 10:10 AM
If you get problems with the camera settings, check the igs file, i used the old example scene ( spheres and cubes) that came with the exporter and the camera was set to 36mm but the render was not right so i went into the igs file and changed the settings to this



<sensor_width>0.036</sensor_width>
<lens_sensor_dist>0.02</lens_sensor_dist>

works fine now

edit..duh !! ignore the above ..i had not bothered to render out in c4d to see how the aspect was meant to be !!

soccerrprp
04-28-2007, 12:45 PM
Hey guys,

I stumbled onto this and am interested in knowing if it is easier to use than MaxwellRender? Also, are the render times compared to MR comparable?

Thanks.

Richard

Micha1138
04-28-2007, 05:35 PM
@Moka.Studios

I think it does, check the forum, there are several people working on this. The distributed rendering does NOT split the image up into separate regions.IIRC it works more like doing multiple "grainy" renderings with different seed sets so that each image gets different pixel"areas" assigned, and when those images are combined, the image becomes more complete. That is how it works on multicore machines, IIRC.

@soccerrprp

Hi Richard,

comparing MR to Indigo does not really work. MR is a commercial product, hence better support (okayyy...) and although it still has its irks and quirks, it is a product that can be used in a production pipeline. And you can make demands towards the manufacturer (if they listen). The integration into C4D is still better than it is with Indigo, due to the professional approach. On the C4d-exporter there is only one person working on. So if this person decides to quit or has other stuff that keeps him from working, thatīs it for the users. Wonīt happen with MR (damn, typing MR always makes me thinkof prop replicas like lightsabers and blasters and stuff...).

I canīt say anything about the speed, but I guess that MR is still faster.

Think MR costly but for more professional use, Indigo freebie for hobby use and professionals who have some free time on their hands. ;)

Michael

Byla
04-29-2007, 11:56 AM
Just one thing, can you guys please stop using MR for Maxwell Render, since us, mental ray (the true MR :) ) users get confused easily :).

Otherwise, the render engine looks quite promising.

Micha1138
04-29-2007, 12:09 PM
Just one thing, can you guys please stop using MR for Maxwell Render, since us, mental ray (the true MR :) ) users get confused easily :).

Otherwise, the render engine looks quite promising.

Sure, but you Mental Rayers shouldnīt have any real business looking at C4D-threads anyway, or did I miss a new development in terms of Mental Ray for C4D ? ;)

I think it will be "MW" from now on :)

Michael

georgedrakakis
04-29-2007, 01:22 PM
Just one thing, can you guys please stop using MR for Maxwell Render, since us, mental ray (the true MR :) ) users get confused easily :).



M~R is less confusing ;)

Micha1138
05-07-2007, 07:23 AM
New exporter release available over at www.indigorenderer.com , now supports R9 and R10, Mac version will follow as soon as fused has access to a Mac.

Take care,
Michael

Micha1138
05-22-2007, 10:06 AM
New Exporter Version for R9 and R10,

also for MAC!

http://www2.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1999

Michael

Micha1138
08-08-2007, 09:28 PM
New version available, updated to Indigo 0.9Beta1

http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2353


Michael

ilay
08-09-2007, 09:39 AM
Hello Michael!
It's great! Thanks for news!

macsupremacist
08-14-2007, 05:40 PM
I'm confused. I see the mac exporter for Indigo, but I can't seem to find a mac version of the Indigo Core Renderer. Is there one, and if so, can someone provide me with a link to it?

Other3DMaster
08-14-2007, 06:06 PM
Doesn't seem that there is a Mac version yet. The developer said on the indigo forum that he had no problem making a version, he just doesn't have access to a Mac.

macsupremacist
08-14-2007, 06:17 PM
Oh ok, thank you.

Micha1138
12-19-2007, 09:16 PM
New version available :

http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3243

Michael

soccerrprp
12-19-2007, 10:14 PM
Is there a tut for the newer plugin version? I got to the point that it is rendering, but the materials are not.

Thanks!

ilay
12-20-2007, 10:25 AM
Richard, try to search at forum/or there was one site with mat.repository
look at http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2009, and gui of plug-in is simple to learn...if you work with maxwell/fry...

soccerrprp
12-20-2007, 03:59 PM
Thank you, will do. :)

Richard

Micha1138
01-24-2008, 01:09 PM
New version of the Indigo exporter available .

Download : http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/download.php?id=3853


Thread over at www.indigorenderer.com

http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3485

Enjoy !

Michael

Micha1138
03-04-2008, 08:42 AM
UPATE !

CINDIGO Version 1.0.7

http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3718

And the new INDIGO 1.0.7

http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3704


Lots of improvements in Cindigo, e.g. all texture maps are supported.

Michael

kvb
03-06-2008, 06:45 PM
Doesn't seem that there is a Mac version yet. The developer said on the indigo forum that he had no problem making a version, he just doesn't have access to a Mac.

Someone near Berlin with a mac should invite this guy over for a beer and coding party;) Just make sure to tell him it's BYOSC (bring your own source code). The beer should be gratis, of course.

fused187
03-07-2008, 02:25 PM
Someone near Berlin with a mac should invite this guy over for a beer and coding party;) Just make sure to tell him it's BYOSC (bring your own source code). The beer should be gratis, of course.

I'm always down for beer! :)

Seriously, its a good idea. Im not keen on giving away my sourcecode to someone over the inets...

CGTalk Moderation
03-07-2008, 02:25 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.