PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: Starting effects (like shatter) at specific times

christhorn
02-07-2006, 12:29 AM
Hi there. Thank you very much for helping. This is a total newbie question. I've searched loads online and through the help files but am totally stumped.

I have three layers in my project - audio, a short WMV as the background, and some simple text.

To start with the 'Aparition' fast blur effect is used, which runs for a few seconds.

I then want a gap and (for example) the 'Shatter' effect to start at, say, 6 seconds.

Currently I can add both effects, but the length of the blur seems unchangeable and no matter where I look or what I mess with I just cannot get the 'Shatter' effect to start anywhere but 00:00:00:00!

Thanks for your time - it's very much appreciated.

Chris Thorn

Mylenium
02-07-2006, 05:49 AM
Hi there. Thank you very much for helping. This is a total newbie question. I've searched loads online and through the help files but am totally stumped.

I have three layers in my project - audio, a short WMV as the background, and some simple text.

To start with the 'Aparition' fast blur effect is used, which runs for a few seconds.

I then want a gap and (for example) the 'Shatter' effect to start at, say, 6 seconds.

Currently I can add both effects, but the length of the blur seems unchangeable and no matter where I look or what I mess with I just cannot get the 'Shatter' effect to start anywhere but 00:00:00:00!

Thanks for your time - it's very much appreciated.

Chris Thorn

That's what keyframing is for... Text layers use so-called "animators". If you twirl down your layer and reveal its properties, you surely will see some keyframes. Just push them around in time until your animation looks like what you're after. Shatter can be controlled by animating the Strength parameter of the force fields.

Mylenium

christhorn
02-07-2006, 01:46 PM