PDA

View Full Version : change the position of joints after paint weights...is that posible?


yolao
02-05-2006, 07:38 PM
hi.

i put a rig in to mi character and i already paint some weights in the arms...but i realize that i need to move the joints of the shoulders a little bit, but if i move the joints of course the mesh moves along...

I don`t want to lose the paint weights's work that i have made so far...is there any way that i can move the joints with out affecting the mesh and with out lossing the paiint weights`s work?....i ask this because i know that in 3Dmax is possible and i hope that in maya too..

thanks in advance
best regards

NolanSW
02-05-2006, 10:29 PM
The best one for handling this is Michael Comets plugin resetSkinJoints (http://www.comet-cartoons.com/MELfiles/resetSkinJoint.zip). He has it available on his website. Also zooWeightSave (http://www.macaronikazoo.com/mel/download/000147.html) by Hamish McKenzie is another great tool.

yolao
02-06-2006, 01:56 AM
The best one for handling this is Michael Comets plugin resetSkinJoints (http://www.comet-cartoons.com/MELfiles/resetSkinJoint.zip). He has it available on his website. Also zooWeightSave (http://www.macaronikazoo.com/mel/download/000147.html) by Hamish McKenzie is another great tool.

thanks a lot Sean...i`m goin to investigate how to use those...

cheers

CGTalk Moderation
02-06-2006, 01:56 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.