PDA

View Full Version : maya camera and null data into after effects


payton
02-03-2006, 09:51 PM
hi,
im trying to import maya camera and null data into after effects. im stumbling over some problems:

1. every .ma file that i import results in a comp that is sized at 320*240. how can i fix this to the correct size without loosing the correct framing of the scene?

2. the camera date will not interprete correctly in after effects. the imported scene will look similar first, but after checking it, i recognize that the nulls are much to close to the camera

for example:

i did a little animation in maya. a null (with a sphere as child) animates from top left of the cam to bottom right. lets say i wanna act this sphere as an emitter for particular.

when i render this as image-sequence and import it with the camera data from the .ma file everything looks fine first. but when i check it in the ae viewport i see that the null (sphere) is much to close to the camera. see the attached image.

http://www.rassnik.de/ae_maya.gif

every footage or particles that i add to the scene in 3d-space (in ae) will be blown up to incredible sizes.

does anybody know whats causing this?
help is much appreciated.
thx,
payton

payton
02-04-2006, 06:48 AM
hi again,
maybe its easier to answer when i upload the files.

archive is here (http://www.rassnik.de/maya_import.zip)

this includes the rendered image sequence from maya, the maya scene and an ae-project with all imported and arranged. a particular-emitter is attached to a light that follows the null (and rendered sphere).

does anybody now know what to do?

by the way: my goal is to animate a vehicle in maya, composite it into real-footage and add some particles with particular, cause i dont like the particle-system from maya.

thx,
payton

Mylenium
02-04-2006, 08:49 AM
hi again,
maybe its easier to answer when i upload the files.

archive is here (http://www.rassnik.de/maya_import.zip)

this includes the rendered image sequence from maya, the maya scene and an ae-project with all imported and arranged. a particular-emitter is attached to a light that follows the null (and rendered sphere).

does anybody now know what to do?

by the way: my goal is to animate a vehicle in maya, composite it into real-footage and add some particles with particular, cause i dont like the particle-system from maya.

thx,
payton

The problem might be Maya's unit settings. You need to tweak them somehow to get proper proportions. The default setting usually is centimeters and I think you need to set it to meters. I'm not quite sure, though. Never really explored this type of stuff.

Mylenium

payton
02-04-2006, 10:08 AM
thx for that.
but where can i edit these unit settings?
payton

Mylenium
02-04-2006, 12:37 PM
thx for that.
but where can i edit these unit settings?
payton



In your Maya Settings... Units & Measurements. Those settings are global, not per scene.

Mylenium

Blur1
02-04-2006, 12:58 PM
Does this help?

http://forums.creativecow.net/cgi-bin/new_page_wrapper.cgi?forumid=1&page=http://www.creativecow.net/articles/delafuente_rene/maya_cam_imp/index.html

payton
02-04-2006, 01:00 PM
thx mylenium. i will try this.

blur, this looks really good. i will check this out.

payton

CGTalk Moderation
02-04-2006, 01:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.