PDA

View Full Version : Simbiont user it's for you


Wireframes
02-01-2006, 09:02 PM
I have made all the simbiont previews to use with messiah. There are not all perfect but you will be able to create better progressively --> it is the base to recognize them :cool:

download here (http://wireframex.free.fr/pmG/Simbiont/Simbiont.zip)


Instructions :

Decompress "simbiont.zip" in your "Pmg\messiahstudio2.0\messiah\modules\materials\"

Simbiont shaders must be installed in "Pmg\messiahstudio2.0\messiah\simbiont"

DLL must be installed in "Pmg\messiahstudio2.0\messiah\Dte\"




There is some views :



http://wireframex.free.fr/pmG/Simbiont/Simbiont1.png


http://wireframex.free.fr/pmG/Simbiont/Simbiont2.png


Phil

Layer01
02-02-2006, 03:18 AM
wow no one's replied yet!?
this is awesome! c'mon guys!

well done Wireframes :bowdown: and thank you for your time and effort

rago
02-02-2006, 11:08 AM
Thanx this is awesome,
I'll give it a try!!!
Rago.

Wireframes
02-02-2006, 05:43 PM
thanks

I hope to see more people use simbiont and Daniel will continue to improve his plugin :)

Phil

sadicus
02-02-2006, 08:31 PM
this looks cool, never heard of darktree before...
where is the DLL?
THANKS!

sadicus
02-02-2006, 08:35 PM
hey that's REALLY cool...!
all the shaders show up, but they all have red ! in the thumbnail.

Wireframes
02-02-2006, 08:35 PM
this looks cool, never heard of darktree before...
where is the DLL?
THANKS!

just have a look to http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=312577

Phil

Wireframes
02-02-2006, 08:56 PM
hey that's REALLY cool...!
all the shaders show up, but they all have red ! in the thumbnail.

Can you show me a grab ?

sadicus
02-02-2006, 09:50 PM
thanks for the link... i no longer have the red ! so i think it's installed ok.

...i'm trying to understand what the DLL is...
and i'm reading up on how to actualy use the shaders now.

thank you for the help!

Wegg
02-02-2006, 11:11 PM
Hey Wireframes. . . do you think you could update the darktree Wiki with your new/cool previews for Messiah?

http://www.darksim.com/dswiki/index.php/SimbiontMS (http://www.darksim.com/dswiki/index.php/SimbiontMS)

mpc823_99
02-03-2006, 01:22 AM
thanks

I hope to see more people use simbiont and Daniel will continue to improve his plugin :)

Phil

Hey Phil, thanks for doing this. :thumbsup: This is what I was hoping would happen - community contributions. Just an FYI for anyone interested, the code itself I've licensed under the LGPL. Unfortunately, August hasn't had time to upload the source to the Darksim website. Also, some of the code (the final radiance code) comes from Darksim, so I've been hesitant to upload it to my website. I'd also rather the focal point go through Darksim, as that is the most logical place.

Wegg, glad to see someone has actually seen the Wiki. I wrote the original contributions quite a while ago. Perhaps with the renewed interest in the plugin, I'll start looking at the code again to see where it can be improved.

Gene Williams
02-03-2006, 01:32 AM
Wireframes,

Thanks a million, makes the plugin a thousand percent more useable...just awesome.

Gene

ThomasHelzle
02-03-2006, 05:15 PM
Ah - great :)
Nice to see you totally grokked the concept of the palette now ;)
Thank you! :bowdown:

Wireframes
02-03-2006, 07:05 PM
Gene/Sadicus/Rago/Layer01 > I am pleased you like it. I will make some update...

Hey Wireframes. . . do you think you could update the darktree Wiki with your new/cool previews for Messiah?
http://www.darksim.com/dswiki/index.php/SimbiontMS

I will do soon ;)

Hey Phil, thanks for doing this. :thumbsup: This is what I was hoping would happen - community contributions.

It is just my modest contribution. Nothing to do without your plugin :bowdown:

Ah - great :)
Nice to see you totally grokked the concept of the palette now ;)
Thank you! :bowdown:

hey Thomas, this concept is just essential ;)
Nice to see you here. I hope you will forget XSI soon ;)

Phil

Wireframes
02-04-2006, 08:22 AM
Preview shaders is now on the Darktree wiki page :

http://www.darksim.com/dswiki/index.php/SimbiontMS (http://www.darksim.com/dswiki/index.php/SimbiontMS)

Phil

Wireframes
01-25-2007, 08:55 PM
There are others simbiont shaders "AllvumDT2" to use with messiah. :cool:

download here (http://wireframex.free.fr/pmG/Simbiont/Simbiont2.zip)


Instructions :

Decompress "simbiont2.zip" in your "Pmg\messiahstudio2.x\messiah\"

Simbiont shaders must be installed in "Pmg\messiahstudio2.x\messiah\simbiont"

DLL must be installed in "Pmg\messiahstudio2.x\messiah\Dte\" (you need to download the file in first post)

There is a preview :

http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/9384/simbiont25at.jpg

Phil

kursad_pileksuz
01-25-2007, 10:05 PM
thnx wireframes,

but there is no dll in the first post, and it is not available in the zip file either.

Wireframes
01-26-2007, 05:13 PM
Oups kursad_pileksuz you're right :eek:

Here is the DLLs : DTE (http://wireframex.free.fr/pmG/Simbiont/Dte.zip)

DLL must be installed in "Pmg\messiahstudio2.x\messiah\Dte\"


Phil

ctguitars
01-27-2007, 05:56 PM
Hi Wireframes,

Thanks for the Simbiont Stuff. Got it all up as stated except I am getting this error:

http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/6215/messiaherror8vq.jpg

[ This pic borrowed from Andreseloy previous post at -
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=92&t=330599&highlight=simbiont ]

I do not have Messiah installed in the Prog Files folder. Is their a way to change the path being looked for permanently as opposed to having to do same each time one opens up a Simbiont Shader?

Cheers
CTGuitars

Tama
01-27-2007, 07:25 PM
I've encountered the same problem with the directory path requiring a change in order to work.

Wireframes
01-27-2007, 07:46 PM
Sorry but I can't do anything about it. It is due to the limitation of the "simbiont.mp" plugin.

You have to change manually the "X" in "C:\Program Files\pmG\messiahstudio2.X" in the Darktree panel of the simbiont material in order to work:bowdown:

Phil

EDIT : When you used a simbiont shader you can save it with the correct path :)

ctguitars
01-28-2007, 12:45 AM
Hi Phil,

You have to change manually the "X" in "C:\Program Files\pmG\messiahstudio2.X" in the Darktree panel of the simbiont material in order to work

I think [ maybe ] you may have misunderstood me. The "X" part is not the issue. I have messiah installed in c:\3dapps\messiah blah blah not under c:\program files\. I changed the env part to this path. But the above error still comes up - unable to open the file blah blah at c:\program files so on. Again, I dont have messiah installed under c:\program files.

Is their a way of changing this path permanently OR does one have to manually do so for each shader you try to apply.

EDIT: although in your reply, maybe I have to change the whole path to my path each time, not just the "X" part?

Cheers
CTGuitars

Wireframes
01-28-2007, 11:04 AM
hi CTGuitars,

Have you declare ENV VARIABLE for Simbiont ?

You will need to set an environment variable to tell the plugin where the component DLLs are at. The environment variable needs to be called "SIMBIONT_COMPONENTS" and contain the directory where the components are located. Alternatively, you can install the component DLLs in a DTE/ subdirectory under the messiah plugins directory.

Name : SIMBIONT_COMPONENTS
Value : c:\Program Files\Pmg\messiahStudio2.5b\messiah\Dte\ (for me)

Value :c:\3dapps\messiah\...\Dte\ (for you)

Phil

kursad_pileksuz
01-28-2007, 01:06 PM
none of these solutions work here :( Thou i can load and hook dartree shaders manually



hi CTGuitars,

Have you declare ENV VARIABLE for Simbiont ?

You will need to set an environment variable to tell the plugin where the component DLLs are at. The environment variable needs to be called "SIMBIONT_COMPONENTS" and contain the directory where the components are located. Alternatively, you can install the component DLLs in a DTE/ subdirectory under the messiah plugins directory.

Name : SIMBIONT_COMPONENTS
Value : c:\Program Files\Pmg\messiahStudio2.5b\messiah\Dte\ (for me)

Value :c:\3dapps\messiah\...\Dte\ (for you)

Phil

Tama
01-28-2007, 02:03 PM
Setting up the environment variable had no effect at all. That's with or without the quotes.

Instead of fighting it I just made copies of the items and placed them into a hierarchy
on my C drive where the plugin is looking for them. Seems to be working fine other than the ocassional crash when copying and pasting the simbiont shaders.

A really nice addition of shaders!! A big thanks for posting them.:thumbsup:

kursad_pileksuz
01-28-2007, 02:19 PM
after all the fixes, it is trying to find the shaders in
"C:\Program Files\pmG\messiahStudio2.5b\messiah\Simbiont\AllvumDT2\"

Nichod
01-28-2007, 02:51 PM
Not to interrupt this troubleshooting. But is there any chance someone could post up some example shader flows using Darktree within Messiah. I saw some simple examples on the plugin's website, but I'd like to see a render and the shaderflow just to get an idea of what it can produce. I'd appreciate it.

Wireframes
01-28-2007, 05:52 PM
nothing exceptional here but good render quality (look at the scratches onto the floor).

The workflow is the same as the other shader. It depends on the shader itself. Some are completly configurable some not. You can have any shaders (AoN/TLHPro) applied into the input of simbiont shader.

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/8831/coupertl3.png

Nichod
01-28-2007, 06:11 PM
And the shader flow? Just want to see what it would look like alongside the render. Your effort is much appreciated Wireframes.

Wireframes
01-28-2007, 08:54 PM
Nichod,

What do you want to see exactly ?

Phil

Nichod
01-28-2007, 09:01 PM
Nichod,

What do you want to see exactly ?

Phil

Just the shader flow of one of the renderered objects.

Wireframes
01-28-2007, 09:41 PM
nothing very exciting here because all was made with Darktree ... Input are active.

You will notice some Tweaks ;)

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/2493/messiahiw3.png

Nichod
01-28-2007, 09:48 PM
Very cool thanks. Definetly worth playing around with. Thanks a lot!

Wegg
01-29-2007, 02:39 AM
I tend to do things a little differently. The Radiance output does work but I have noticed it to crash every now and then on bigger more complex renders. Breaking your Darktree up into different components works better and gives you more control.

http://www.eggington.net/%7Ewegg/RenderTests/DarktreeChunks.png

So this is what my wood texture looks like in the Medievil table I'm working on. See how I'm just using color out of the Simbiont?

Color, Bump and Spec. And a little standard Messiah noise on the Glossiness.

Wireframes
01-29-2007, 04:32 PM
I have notice some shader could crash some other not with radiance. Sometimes messiah refuse to save the scene with radiance.

You're right Wegg it is the best way to use Simbiont like you do. The point before was to show to Nichod the quality of simbiont rendering ...

Phil

EDIT : All the shader view I have done must be improved one by one to be like you have done but it is a lot of work. I think to improve it this year ;)
I thought that the preview was more important to see what the shader do and it was easier to make it :)

Wireframes
01-29-2007, 09:35 PM
Wegg,

For some shader it seems you can't make what the radiance produce.

Still don't know why Tweaks is not available with some shaders.

Wegg --> have you got Darktree to test some shaders ?

Phil

Wegg
01-29-2007, 09:48 PM
I do have darktree. I tend to always create my own shaders and not use any of the pre-sets.

The pre-sets for me are usually just like. . . practical manuals as to how its put together.

When you buy the Darktree shaders from shaders.org you get HUNDREDS and HUNDREDS of pre-sets.

ctguitars
02-01-2007, 05:24 PM
hi CTGuitars,

Have you declare ENV VARIABLE for Simbiont ?

You will need to set an environment variable to tell the plugin where the component DLLs are at. The environment variable needs to be called "SIMBIONT_COMPONENTS" and contain the directory where the components are located. Alternatively, you can install the component DLLs in a DTE/ subdirectory under the messiah plugins directory.

Name : SIMBIONT_COMPONENTS
Value : c:\Program Files\Pmg\messiahStudio2.5b\messiah\Dte\ (for me)

Value :c:\3dapps\messiah\...\Dte\ (for you)

Phil

Hi Phil & all,

Sorry for Tardy reply - I have spent a rotten week with full blown flu. Just getting back together, althought still not completely cured yet.

Anyways, I had already set the details you stated above - to no avail. Where is it getting this fixed path from one wonders? In the messiah code itself or the darktree plugin?

I look forward to an eventual resolution - maybe :)

cheers
Aidan

Wireframes
02-01-2007, 05:43 PM
Hi Aidan,

I think the pb is in the plugin Simbiont_MS.mp because when you do your own thumbnail preview the path is coded in the preset.

If you want to improve it just go there (http://danielstewart1.home.comcast.net/darktree2.htm)and ask for Daniel STEWART

Thanks

Phil

CGTalk Moderation
02-01-2007, 05:43 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.