PDA

View Full Version : Mentalray : black pixels in reflections T__T


M-Kiwi-Blanc-Jaune
02-01-2006, 09:35 AM
Hi there !

I'm new to this forum but this forum isn't new to me, since I browse it every time I meet a problem. I didn't find a satisfying answer to the last one, that's the reason why I decided to register finally :D

Well, the thing is that I'm using the mental ray renderer of 3DSmax 8 SP1 to render a cellphone for a commercial, and I'm getting ugly black pixels on several frames. I suspect a problem with reflections but I'm sure of nothing. The black zones seem to appear randomly. If I render the same frame twice I don't get the same zones at the same place...

Some of the frames :

www.peoleo.com/Helpme/SiemensAnimTest2-0035.jpg (http://www.peoleo.com/Helpme/SiemensAnimTest2-0035.jpg)
www.peoleo.com/Helpme/SiemensAnimTest2-0041.jpg (http://www.peoleo.com/Helpme/SiemensAnimTest2-0041.jpg)
www.peoleo.com/Helpme/SiemensAnimTest2-0051.jpg (http://www.peoleo.com/Helpme/SiemensAnimTest2-0051.jpg)

Thanks for your help ! C&C are welcome too ;)

MKBJ.

P.S. : sorry if my english is a bit rusty...

M-Kiwi-Blanc-Jaune
02-01-2006, 10:37 AM
And I forgot this : no caustics, no GI, FG is on.

MasterZap
02-01-2006, 01:54 PM
What shader did you use?

/Z

M-Kiwi-Blanc-Jaune
02-01-2006, 02:38 PM
For "shiny" reflections I used Max's raytrace material and for blurry reflections i used mr's metal (lume) shader. As you can see on the pictures the problem appeared on both materials.

After several tests it appeared that the problem was caused by FG, so I turned it off and lighted my scene differently, but the question still remains : how did it happen ?

MKBJ.

CGTalk Moderation
02-01-2006, 02:38 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.