PDA

View Full Version : 3d in 2d world


proton
12-08-2002, 03:34 PM
Here is an example of having a character walk around in a 2d world but still have the ability to walk in front of and behind the same object.....kinda fun...






be sure to check out all four areas as seen in the pic below

www.cimagineering.com/william/william.zip

mohh
12-08-2002, 06:09 PM
Great job Proton! Would it be too much to ask for a tut on how you did this or at least the fla?

mohh
12-08-2002, 06:19 PM
Hmm,

Does it lock up for anyone else while trying to enter a building (pressing the space bar)?

DuRanG
12-09-2002, 12:59 PM
did you put 8 positions for the character in a movieclip, and set the animation depending on the angle between the mouse area and the movieclip? (bad english, did you understand what i said? :rolleyes: )

proton
12-11-2002, 03:59 AM
I have the FLA file with the entire thing documented with comments on what every area does and how to edit it and change it up for your own project....3dfestival/cgtalk will be hosting the files very soon :thumbsup:

mohh
12-11-2002, 04:05 AM
Awesome,

I can't wait!! Thanks P.

marc
12-11-2002, 03:51 PM
thats impressive dood.

pigwater
12-12-2002, 01:45 AM
freakin cool :applause: ...but my space bar action wasn't workin

KingMob
12-12-2002, 06:53 AM
great man love the seus ie style. I love seeing interesting flash use.:buttrock:

jizzypop
12-12-2002, 10:55 PM
Originally posted by mohh
Hmm,

Does it lock up for anyone else while trying to enter a building (pressing the space bar)?

same here, but that is really cool flash animation

proton
12-12-2002, 11:00 PM
the space bar thing only worx when it is live on a site....

dobermunk
12-13-2002, 09:59 AM
You should pitch this to Dr. Suess' publishers! It would be great to see this in use!

(Not that I'd like to see ya neglect your Newtek duties, though :D

Solesurvivor
12-15-2002, 09:59 PM
eum for this swf, didn't you just use seperate layers for the objects, if not then using layers would be way easier than your way

proton
12-15-2002, 11:36 PM
the problem with layers is that u can't walk in front of and behind something if it's on a layer.....try walking in front of the trailer and behind the trailer....layers wouldn't work in this case....

Solesurvivor
12-16-2002, 07:50 AM
why not use swap depths, which is triggered by x_location , it is pretty easy

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 11:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.