PDA

View Full Version : HairFX and Max8


papillonio
01-25-2006, 08:21 PM
I'm desperatly trying to use HairFX with Max8 but it won't show either in the viewport or in the render...though I'm really good at using HaiFX so it's not me !!!
And I can't find a word about that on the net ...
Am I the only one with this problem ????

Gonzaga
01-26-2006, 10:27 AM
Hello ... take a look at the discreet support forum for certified plugins ... there in the HairFX category you can find a link to newer builds of HairFX ...

http://support.discreet.com/webboard/wbpx.dll/~discreetcertifiedplugins/login

Regards ... Andreas.

papillonio
01-26-2006, 05:37 PM
Thanx Andreas, I will go there and post an answer for anyone who runs into the same problem... As Hai and fur in max is not as quick as HairFX, and it has less dynamics parameters...so

see you

ikolev
01-30-2006, 08:12 PM
Which version of hairfx are you using? (the latest build is 1.6.0.60 and is recommended for use in Max8)

Do you get errors on Max loading, like "hairfx.dlu cannot load ... (for some reason)" ? It needs the DCPFLICS protection, which can be copied from 3ds Max 7, the two important files are DCPFLICS.dlu and TSRegisterNow.dll.

Regards,
Ivan

juceh
01-31-2006, 03:09 AM
iīm having the same problem here. i guess only builds above 1.6 will work fine in max 8. Bad! my HFX version is 1.5.1.51. thatīs the last build available in dimension website.
http://www.ddag.org/ .

The worst is : Hair n fur for max 8 seems to be a great plugin but for now itīs just for high end production. Study on it is getting tedious. itīs too slow on render . Who knows hairfx know what iīm saying. Iīm working on an elf n he is bald at the moment... please post something with you know how to solve that problem!

thx!

ikolev
01-31-2006, 08:31 AM
iīm having the same problem here. i guess only builds above 1.6 will work fine in max 8. Bad! my HFX version is 1.5.1.51. thatīs the last build available in dimension website.
http://www.ddag.org/
Well, hairfx 1.6 was sort of unofficial until now and the link to it wasn't public on our site. But since it's been quite some time since the latest build (1.6.0.60) was released and there have been no bug reports, and since HairTrix was delayed more than we expected, I've decided to make 1.6.0.60 the official latest build of hairfx. Just reload the Products page on our site, the download link there has changed.

juceh
02-01-2006, 03:52 AM
Hi Ikolev!

Thx a lot Bro . Now the things here are running. i can study it better. With scanline render thereīs no problem until now. Everyth ok! . With Mental ray i get that message: "hairfx.mi, line 8: mi file requires ray version 3.3.99 or older, this is 3.4.4.9" . The render slow down n sometimes itīs not render. The Shader is wierd too. Seems that the goliness , specular n other sets donīt work fine - ( MR mat- Surface * Hfx shader ). I really would like to do my elf on mental ray - itīs already textured just wait for a good hair.
Although the events, HFX is my favorite - Faster - Great results! - Thx for it!

papillonio
02-10-2006, 07:07 PM
Hi,
thanx evryone for the answers.
yes HairFx is workin fine now with the hairfx1.6.0.60R7_Update_Fr_3DSMax8.zip build
its available at http://www.ddag.org/

See you

ikolev
02-11-2006, 08:38 AM
With Mental ray i get that message: "hairfx.mi, line 8: mi file requires ray version 3.3.99 or older, this is 3.4.4.9"

Just open "\3dsmax\mentalray\shaders_autoload\include\hairfx.mi" and change the line

max version "3.3.99"

to

max version "3.4.99"

juceh
02-11-2006, 01:03 PM
Just open "\3dsmax\mentalray\shaders_autoload\include\hairfx.mi" and change the line

max version "3.3.99"

to

max version "3.4.99"


Thks ! everything is ok Now!!

Ayne
02-15-2006, 09:38 AM
I am using 3DS MAX 7.......

After the installationof hair fx when i open the 3ds max during loding the error appers

________________________________________________
Loading DLLs
DLL <D:3DS Max 7\ plugins \hairfx.dlu> failed to intialize
ERROR Code 126 the specified module could not be found
_________________________________________________

what the hell is this????? i download the hairfx1.6.0.60R7 from http://www.ddag.org/
i copy all the procedure which was in the help file to install the hair fx....

Any body can tell me how can i??????
tell me the Step by Step procedure plz
thanx

Sorry for my bad english.....

juceh
02-16-2006, 11:47 AM
I am using 3DS MAX 7.......

After the installationof hair fx when i open the 3ds max during loding the error appers

________________________________________________
Loading DLLs
DLL <D:3DS Max 7\ plugins \hairfx.dlu> failed to intialize
ERROR Code 126 the specified module could not be found
_________________________________________________

what the hell is this????? i download the hairfx1.6.0.60R7 from http://www.ddag.org/
i copy all the procedure which was in the help file to install the hair fx....

Any body can tell me how can i??????
tell me the Step by Step procedure plz
thanx

Sorry for my bad english.....



HI!...ok.

you just downloaded the hFX n then copy the file to pluginsī folder?...if yes. i guess thatīs the problem. to run that version of HFX first u have to install the full version with dcp...try it!!

good luck!!

Ayne
02-16-2006, 02:58 PM
HI!...ok.

you just downloaded the hFX n then copy the file to pluginsī folder?...if yes. i guess thatīs the problem. to run that version of HFX first u have to install the full version with dcp...try it!!

good luck!!


can u explain in more detail.
i just copy the files in plugin folder and some files in mental ray shader......
what is dcp

Ayne
02-16-2006, 03:03 PM
HI!...ok.

you just downloaded the hFX n then copy the file to pluginsī folder?...if yes. i guess thatīs the problem. to run that version of HFX first u have to install the full version with dcp...try it!!

good luck!!


can u explain in more detail.
i just copy the files in plugin folder and some files in mental ray shader......
what is dcp

ikolev
02-16-2006, 08:34 PM
can u explain in more detail.

Well, it means that "u" need to *buy* the plugin first.

GoSsS
02-03-2007, 12:36 PM
Hi,

I've a problem with HairFX using max 8 and mental ray.
Here is the screenshot :

http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/598/problemkm9.jpg

It's strange because i use hairfx1.6.0.66R7 that i've download here : http://www.ddag.org/ but i don't achieve to render hair using mental ray.

Where is my error ?

Thx in advance.

CGTalk Moderation
02-03-2007, 12:36 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.