PDA

View Full Version : What modeler do you use?

iKKe
01-25-2006, 02:19 AM
The EI Modeler is history now, or isn't it?

I am wondering what the favorite modelers are amongst EIAS users.

Please vote

buggsy
01-25-2006, 02:24 AM
I'm a Building Designer and I use ArchiCAD and them import to EI. I've just purchased SILO which I love for freeform type models.

Buggsy

Vizfizz
01-25-2006, 02:25 AM
Try setting up a poll with a couple of possibilities. 10 is the maximum. I'd include:

EIM
Silo
Form Z
Hexagon
Modo
Cobalt/Xenon/Argon
SketchUp
Other mainstream 3D app. (LW/Maya/C4D/Max)
Amapi

Who am I missing?

iKKe
01-25-2006, 02:44 AM
Sorry Brian,

I was working on the poll, there are so many choices, I had a hard time choosing between them, maybe users can post if their modeler is other than the mentioned ones.

Cheers

Hans

Vizfizz
01-25-2006, 02:46 AM
Its cool.. you got some that I overlooked.

iKKe
01-25-2006, 02:50 AM
I still use EI modeler, I always loved it.

But Modo has taken it's place as my favorite modeler.

AzOne
01-25-2006, 05:43 AM
It took me almost a year from when it first came out to get my head around how EI Modeler worked. And I'm still learning! Now I won't let it go until it refuses to run on my Mac :-)

I still have (fading) hopes that somehow it might be revived.

In the meantime I've tried Silo and Hexagon. Both are great but I think the wiring in my head seems to work better with Hexagon. Just wish it supported FACT.

AVTPro
01-25-2006, 06:19 AM
My primary modeler is FormZ because it can do anything.
However, I got more into EIM when I got into orgranic characters because of the Morph Targeting is easier to transfer into EIAS for facial animation.

My first character head was modeled in FormZ and transferred via .SAT into EIModeler.
Then as I learned to use EIM it went the way of the dinosaur.

Well, of course EIM still works fine but I decided to learn Maya, because of UV control would benefit my EI work more.

http://web.mac.com/avtpro5/iWeb