PDA

View Full Version : Squash and Stretch tail

JamSession
01-23-2006, 09:04 PM
I have a bull character that the tail needs to squash and stretch sorta like Packageman spine. The problem is I am a student and have no clue on how to go about doing it. I was hoping you guys may have some helpful inputs or workarounds of doing it.
Thank You so much,

john_homer
01-23-2006, 09:23 PM
have a search around for a "stretchy spine" tutorial.. I'm sure there is one out there...

there is a script by jason shleifer that basically does it for ya...

not sure if its on his site www.jonhandhisdog.com or if it came with his alias DVD...

.j

JamSession
01-24-2006, 02:56 AM
have a search around for a "stretchy spine" tutorial.. I'm sure there is one out there...

there is a script by jason shleifer that basically does it for ya...

not sure if its on his site www.jonhandhisdog.com (http://www.jonhandhisdog.com) or if it came with his alias DVD...

.j

I own the packageman scripts and the howto pdf but when it talks about how to do the spine, it says that it is jason's way and they can't explain it since it is his way. Since I used it on the spine, it won't let me reuse it for the tail. I just want to beable to pull out the tail and push it in while still having the fk rotates.

ashishdantu
01-24-2006, 07:21 AM
hi Jamsession,

try this : u can rig ur tail .. with a spline IK.. and then u select the splineIK's curve (curve1) in ur outliner..

then u select the curve and type : arclen -ch 1; and it creates a curveInfo node, which basically reads and displays ur curve1's length. this info u can use to translate ur tail bones. then u create a mutliply node (i'll call it MDNs) -name it 'FactorMDN 'and plug the curveInfo node's arcLen attrib into the FactorMDN's input1X and then copy this input1X's value into the input2X box and set this FactorMDN to divide.. this is ur factor giver - like tell u how much the original length of the spline IK's curve has changed..