PDA

View Full Version : Buying a tablet...

Blackwave
01-18-2006, 07:00 PM
Hi there all,

I'm after a graphics tablet. I've never used one before, been meaning to get one for a while.

I'm on a VERY small budget, 30-40 is kind of pushing it. I want to use it with Photoshop for a GCSE Art project, but after looking around the designs here (paticularly the Daily Sketches forum) I'm kind of interested in taking part in that.

I've had a look on ebay, seems the general opinion here is that Wacom are the best, so I looked for a Wacom model.

Whilst I'm drooling at the thought of an Inuous3, it's a little bit out of my price range... :)

Theres a Wacom Volito (OEM CZW9) being sold for 24.95, but the fact that the drivers don't mention Windows XP and the price is making me think it's a little bit too old to be of any use.

Any ideas?

opus13
01-18-2006, 09:52 PM
Theres a Wacom Volito (OEM CZW9) being sold for 24.95, but the fact that the drivers don't mention Windows XP and the price is making me think it's a little bit too old to be of any use.

considering what people draw with a basic mouse, the volito will do you just fine :)
seriously though, if you are on a tight budget, a used graphire 2, 3, or a volito is your best shot.

volito review:
http://www.rojakpot.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=79&pgno=0

Blackwave
01-19-2006, 05:23 PM
When I posted the above, it didn't appear in the forum so I reposted, so apolagies if it appears twice.

Is there anything really... 'wrong' with the Volitos. I've been looking at a few Graphires on ebay for a decent price. What would be better, a Graphire 4, or an Intuous 2?

Messenjah
01-20-2006, 09:18 AM
Seriously, if I were you, I would consider waiting it out and get a Wacom Intuos 3. I almost didn't buy it myself until I found a sweet deal on CS2, where if I bought the Wacom I could also get CS2 for $299 flat out. :)