PDA

View Full Version : the effect i have always dreamed of


dosealas
01-18-2006, 09:51 AM
hello,

i just read this amazing effect, i have been trying to find a way to do this for a long time, the tecnique looks easy but can afx do it? it says something about 32 bit images, and since afx 7.0 now supports floating point images, can we do it?


or is a plugin required?

see link:
this one what im talking about (http://www.digitalartform.com/archives/2005/07/uv_map_now_or_u.html)

and this is a kind of related subject (http://www.digitalartform.com/archives/2004/10/smear_now_or_sm.html)

Mylenium
01-18-2006, 10:12 AM
hello,

i just read this amazing effect, i have been trying to find a way to do this for a long time, the tecnique looks easy but can afx do it? it says something about 32 bit images, and since afx 7.0 now supports floating point images, can we do it?


or is a plugin required?

see link:
this one what im talking about (http://www.digitalartform.com/archives/2005/07/uv_map_now_or_u.html)

and this is a kind of related subject (http://www.digitalartform.com/archives/2004/10/smear_now_or_sm.html)

It may support floating point, but it still does not support UV coordinates. Both are completely different things (you could have UVs even in 8 bpc).

Mylenium

dosealas
01-18-2006, 08:05 PM
there must be a script or plugin for this....?!?!?

Dutchman
01-18-2006, 10:15 PM
I absolutely agree that that effect would be veeery awesome! It would mean you can edit almost everything in post! :cool: (lighting, UV-mapping etc!)

There has been an interesting thread about that some weeks ago! CLICK HERE! (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?p=2973197#post2973197)

Especially that link to that Andreas Bauer Shake-script (http://homepage.mac.com/bauer/portfolio_pages/portfolio.6.html) might be nice for you?!

The only sad thing is that it doesn't seem to exist yet for After Effects (unless that article you showed seems to use only AE?)

Have fun & if you find any interesting info about it, tell me! ;)
-Gijs

WillRyan
01-19-2006, 04:26 AM
It would be great to be able to do. I remember at a Max 8 demo a while back, they spent more than half the time showing off Combustion. One of the major selling points at the time was the ability to swap textures in post. I hope I'm not mixing things up, as that was the tail end of a 2-hour demo.:scream:

Any Combustion-heads able to shed some light on the matter?

ssalo
01-19-2006, 06:21 AM
yes, you can swap textures with 3ds max-combustion combination. But only if they were rendered with -.rpf files with special channels included.

Vympel
01-19-2006, 09:16 AM
yes, you can swap textures with 3ds max-combustion combination. But only if they were rendered with -.rpf files with special channels included.

Or using the G-buffuer Builder and render elemenys for example

klingspor
01-20-2006, 09:18 PM
dosealas, it may interest you to know that I've finished writing a set of plugins recently, one of which will let you do exactly what you requested - directly within After Effects.

We're now in the process of creating a website for the plugins and I expect it to be up in a few weeks at max. We also haven't decided on a price yet, but rest assured there will be a trial version for you all to play with.

I'll keep you updated when the site is done!

Mylenium
01-21-2006, 08:52 AM
.le@gmx.dedosealas, it may interest you to know that I've finished writing a set of plugins recently, one of which will let you do exactly what you requested - directly within After Effects.

We're now in the process of creating a website for the plugins and I expect it to be up in a few weeks at max. We also haven't decided on a price yet, but rest assured there will be a trial version for you all to play with.

I'll keep you updated when the site is done!

Good to hear things are coming along. Have been wondering if you just hads given up and stopped development...

Mylenium

klingspor
01-21-2006, 11:16 AM
.le@gmx.de

Good to hear things are coming along. Have been wondering if you just hads given up and stopped development...

MyleniumNo, no, things are coming along just fine. But since developing the plugins isn't the only thing on my mind at the moment, it's all going a little slower than I might like.
Anyway, care to have another look at the software before it's released?

Mylenium
01-21-2006, 12:07 PM
No, no, things are coming along just fine. But since developing the plugins isn't the only thing on my mind at the moment, it's all going a little slower than I might like.
Anyway, care to have another look at the software before it's released?

Would love to see how it works. Feel free to contact me again.

Mylenium

dosealas
01-21-2006, 12:21 PM
stefanminning count me in as a beta tester aswell man!.. :thumbsup:

CGTalk Moderation
01-21-2006, 12:21 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.