PDA

View Full Version : Messiah Project Log - Mech by Layer01 - WIP

Layer01
01-15-2006, 01:14 PM
Hi, this is the first of my experimental project logs :applause:
My name is Peter, i'm a student at the Australian National University, and i seem to always end up doing things like this hehehe :p
i'm very new to messiah and animation in general, but hopefully that will change with the help of these logs :)

this is the thread with the "rules" (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=309964) But of course i cant enforce them so they are more like suggestions :deal:

so without further todo here is the first in what i hope might be many of these.

Mech Project Log

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y244/Layer01/Project-screen-shot.jpg

here is the scene file for those interested: Here (http://files.filefront.com/Messiah_robotzip/;4617147;;/fileinfo.html)
update 1 (http://files.filefront.com/Body_rig_Sections04mpjzip/;4630894;;/fileinfo.html) - objects parented to bones instead of using MetaEffectors
update 2 (http://files.filefront.com/Body_rig_new18mpj/;4640538;;/fileinfo.html) - went back to using MetaEffectors, rig is set up and working now

Statment of intent:
I intend to rig and animate this mesh with the aid of MetaEffectors to keep the solid look that is needed for this type of model.
i aim to learn more about using MetaEffectors, Commands, and organising assets.

Things i've learnt so far:

- MetaEffectors are vertex based
- To use Direct weights (under the bone block)
- keep bones properly oriented
- The lag i the leg mesh is not caused by other bones affecting the mesh, it is the MetaEffectors
- To stop the lag in the leg mesh a value higher than 30 needs to be entered. might be lower but less than 20 and it starts playing up again.
- messiah draws its items from the top to bottom, therefore if you parent an item to a bone it is below that bone in the list -> the bone gets overdrawn