PDA

View Full Version : Arm and cable hang up ?


Wireframes
01-12-2006, 10:31 PM
Hi the list

I am doing some test before realise a robot with cables attached to arm (with Softbody)

Anyone can explain me how to hang up cables on different parts of an other object ?

I just want cable to follow the arm movement.

I create cable and arm on differents layer, the arm use 2 bones (just see picture).

Thanks for the help

Phil

SpikeWorx
01-13-2006, 05:09 PM
Did you try Motion dynamics and bones instead of SB?

FB_Turbine
01-13-2006, 05:39 PM
I would recommend bone dynamics also.

For the soft body route:
Add a bone to each end to control the ends of the cable. Then parent the bones to the arms where you want them. Then if need you meta effectors to fine tune the softbody effect.

For bone dynamics:
Id use done dynamics. Get fb_bonechain (http://www.borderequals0.org/3ddev/fb_bonechain.cfm) to easily setup the bones for the cable. Parent the start and the end to the arms and apply the bone dynamics. Theres a motion dynamics video on PMGs (http://www.projectmessiah.com/) site if you need an example to help set things up.

Wireframes
01-13-2006, 10:24 PM
Thank you for all :)

I will try both.

Phil

AAAron
01-15-2006, 05:41 PM
This bonechain plug is great thanks!!!

Wireframes
02-07-2006, 10:56 PM
hi the list :)

I continue my experimentation with cables, bonechain and motion dynamics. I have found that is better to remove all bones except the first one after apply the motion dynamics.

The cable-moving is perfect now but I didn't find how to connect each part of the cable to follow the movement of the arms ?

There is my actual test :

Thanks for all

Phil

P.S. : poor modelisation is made with modo --> all Ngons removed :bounce:

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/5868/perspmessiah9sr.png

http://img506.imageshack.us/img506/3955/hierarchy9sj.png

AAAron
02-08-2006, 12:39 AM
you could use a curve instead of bones for the cable

Wireframes
02-08-2006, 07:51 AM
Thanks AAAron I will do that

AAAron
02-09-2006, 02:19 PM
Did you get it to work? Ill tested it my self, it workes fine if you parent the points to the arms(bones) with the position locked and then move them in to place in the animation tab.

Wireframes
02-09-2006, 04:06 PM
It works with bones and motion dynamics but not with curve :(

How to affect curve to deform the rope ?

Can you show me your Messiah items list to see your parenting ?

Thanks for all

Phil

AAAron
02-09-2006, 04:35 PM
You need to use a flex effect to deform the rope, Ill post you some screens.
http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/5726/cablesetup5jx.th.png (http://img219.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cablesetup5jx.png)

Wireframes
02-09-2006, 06:31 PM
Thanks Aaaron for your help

I will try this evening :)

Wireframes
02-10-2006, 10:03 PM
Ok it works very well now :lightbulb

I have just understand the power of parenting :cool:

Thanks Aaaron :bowdown:

I can continue my project ...

CGTalk Moderation
02-10-2006, 10:03 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.