PDA

View Full Version : XP64bit: not displaying time slider for DVD tutorials


Fess
01-10-2006, 04:42 PM
Hello,

I've noticed that the quicktime time slider is not visible in my DVD tutorials when playing on my XP64bit system.

Is there some download that can fix this issue?

screenshot1 (http://www.mohan-conceptual.com/maya/dt.jpg)
screenshot2 (http://www.mohan-conceptual.com/maya/gnomon.jpg)

Thank you
Fess

SheepFactory
01-10-2006, 04:46 PM
I have the exact same problem. Dont know of any fix but you can still interact with the time slider , you just cant see it :)

Fess
01-10-2006, 05:58 PM
Glad I'm not alone on this....

Yes, I can do a 'toilet' pause but that's about all the interaction I can get.

Those gnomon DVD's pack heavy verbage & terms, I need to drag the slider back to hear passages sometimes, don't want to watch a chapter all over again.

Sigh.......

MadMax
01-11-2006, 04:09 AM
Hello,

I've noticed that the quicktime time slider is not visible in my DVD tutorials when playing on my XP64bit system.

Is there some download that can fix this issue?



Works just fine on Win64 here. I have tried several Gnomon disks and regular quicktime files. All work flawlessly.

http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/3596/qt645ma.th.jpg (http://img178.imageshack.us/my.php?image=qt645ma.jpg)

lots
01-11-2006, 05:12 AM
I dont have any gnomon disks, but quicktime works just fine on my system as well.

MadMax
01-11-2006, 05:44 AM
Could be a display issue.

You guys are not using ATI cards are you?

nuke
01-11-2006, 05:57 AM
I have that slider display issue too in embedded QT movies in Firefox and card is Nvidia's using forceware 77.77 driver.

Slight issues with Maya too (attribute editor and hypershade), but not so bad as using the most recent Nvidia drivers.

Still I can't roll back to x32 XP because x64 is fast.

Regards,

MadMax
01-11-2006, 06:05 AM
I have that slider display issue too in embedded QT movies in Firefox and card is Nvidia's using forceware 77.77 driver.

Slight issues with Maya too (attribute editor and hypershade), but not so bad as using the most recent Nvidia drivers.

Still I can't roll back to x32 XP because x64 is fast.

Regards,

I'm using the 77.77 drivers. Browser Mozilla.

I've had no issues using Hypershade or Attribute editor.

nitindesign
01-11-2006, 06:33 AM
I have had lot of issue with Maya display using GeForce 6600 card. Version 77.77 drivers works the best but I can still make the system crash if I move the Maya windows too much from one monitor to the other.

Btw what are you using for burning CDs/DVDs on XP64? Is Nero working fine?

jcbray
01-11-2006, 08:41 AM
Nero works fine under x64 - well, version 6 does anyways. I've heard not to bother with 7, but not because it doesn't work, just because it's buggy and not worth the upgrade.

SheepFactory
01-11-2006, 04:03 PM
I am also on 77.77 , quicktime used to work fine then at some point it freaked out like this. I think its a v7 bug.

Anyway , use this fix for now:

https://addons.mozilla.org/extensions/moreinfo.php?id=446&application=firefox


Its a firefox addon that lets you open up embedded video content in seperate players , the black bar bug is not in the quicktime player so you can scroll just fine. you can also open up gnomon videos seperately in a player instead of that crappy flash interface they come with.

hope this helps,

-A

CGTalk Moderation
01-11-2006, 04:03 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.