PDA

View Full Version : What driver for Tyan K8WE?


Crayox
01-05-2006, 08:50 PM
Hi,
When I go to nvidias site and search for that motherboard driver which one do I select for this MB http://www.tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8we.html

I mean is that nforce4 chipset? It says nforce profesional, and there are a lot of options on nvidias site, but none of them say "profesional"

thx

ihavenofish
01-05-2006, 09:28 PM
nforce 4, amd.
im running 6.66 which seems to be good. i think theres a newer one though.

Crayox
01-05-2006, 10:07 PM
I already asked this but here I go again, I mean just out of curiosity, what are this other ones?

I mean, should I get nforce 4, or nforce 4 AMD? Or that one with Intel too :)

lots
01-05-2006, 11:18 PM
Obviously you would not get the intel one as you have an AMD system :P use the AMD NF4 drivers. The X16 drivers seem to be buggy on the K8WE

Crayox
01-06-2006, 09:59 AM
hehe I know, but it also says AMD on that Intel one. And what are those 430/410 for? I just think there shoul be an explanation after you click each one of those.

MattClary
01-06-2006, 03:47 PM
When it comes to vidoe cards, i always go straight to nVidia for the drivers, however, I don't think I would do that for a motherboard. They are a lot more complex and I trust Tyan to have good drivers.

You should look here, IMO:

http://www.tyan.com/support/html/drivers_support.html

ihavenofish
01-06-2006, 04:29 PM
tyan just gives you basic nvidia drivers, whichever is newest at time of shipping.
ive had all manner of issues with nvidia drivers, and find 6.66 to be the most reliable. for now.

as for the "whats all these other drivers"
well, the 430/410 is for the integrated vido nforce 4's. the x16 driver is for the new x16 chipsets (which the k8we sorta is, but isnt so you shouldnt use it)
the intel one is obviously for intel :)

Crayox
01-06-2006, 04:36 PM
I see. Well so far, they have some 6.66 beta drivers for nvidia chipset. I hope that'll change soon.

ihavenofish
01-06-2006, 10:54 PM
6.66 isnt beta... they are pretty old. 5-6 months.http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_nf4_winxp64_amd_6.66.html

Crayox
01-07-2006, 08:15 AM
Yeah, but that's what it says on Tyans site. I don't know why they are not updateing it.

CGTalk Moderation
01-07-2006, 08:15 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.