PDA

View Full Version : Block Error on high resolution texture

DAZZAN
01-01-2006, 11:05 PM
This error must be something old to some,but im a newbie at textureing,and im getting what looks like digital dropouts when i go up to higher res,which is what i wanted a 8000 by 8000 very high detail,but this caused multiple blocks to appear,then went to 4000 by 4000 and 6 layers and got to 253.444,and started to get the blocks.

Im on Pcs2,and have 2 gig of ram,plenty of hard disk.

i need to put on more details but im gonna get more blocks.

Is there any way to get rid of these,or any tips.

thankyou.

The enclosed portion of the image has only one block.But i cant edit it as the image was done as a whole and if i try just to match and erase the block it stand out like a sore thumb,which i have done,also im sure after editing the problem and continueing,another block would present itself.

halo
01-01-2006, 11:27 PM
if its permanently altering the file, and not just a gfx card glitch then its a hardware fault somewhere on the data path...hard drive, ram, motherboard, bad cables, bad power supply...reseat, reconnect, disconnect unessential exquipment, test ram and disk integrity.

DAZZAN
01-01-2006, 11:55 PM
if its permanently altering the file, and not just a gfx card glitch then its a hardware fault somewhere on the data path...hard drive, ram, motherboard, bad cables, bad power supply...reseat, reconnect, disconnect unessential exquipment, test ram and disk integrity.

Yes its permenetly altering the file,as its there in render,dont have a lot of eqipment plugged into the pc,so ill start with ram and hd.

windows can check these right,or is there other better checkers out there.

thanks.

funny how it does not do it on low res files ,only on the high res stuff.

Also ps can do super high res without any faults as long as you have the ram?
i mean multiple layers,does it have a res limit?

XepptizZ
01-02-2006, 02:30 AM