PDA

View Full Version : Dabs/Brushes (capturing and managing)

TseTse
12-26-2005, 10:38 PM
Hiyas

I'm still learning Painter and use IX. I've been poking around with images hoses and various ways to produce textures. I am still learning the Painter lingo and tools.

SO!

I figured out how to easily establish custom 'dabs' but am desperately missing the ability to browse a bunch of subtle dabs like you could browse "tip shapes" in photoshop.

I'm wondering what tips folks might have for organizing various brushes with different dab settings and such.

I'd just make new custom palette brushes if i knew how to make the icons better reflect the dabs I'm using.

I'm also wondering if there is a way to use the tracker to manage a specific library of brushes because there you can see the dabs). I'm just not sure how to save tracker libraries beyond setting variants. Does locking them just put them at the top as "stickies" and is this what others do?

Anyways, for those who have gone through this process... I'm basically just wanting some subtle brush variations and an ability to save/select them in the way i might setup a bunch of tool presets in PS with different tip shapes.

Yes, I've looked around various sites and threads but usually folks are talking in terms of completely different entire brush TYPES, but not merely variations on dabs/tips.

Eager for thoughts from more experienced folks :D

Jinbrown
12-27-2005, 02:28 PM
Hi,

If you want to be able to select a Captured Dab brush variant without having to look through the brush variant list, create a separate brush category for each of your custom Captured Dab variants and use the individual Captured Dab JPG image files as the brush category icons.

To learn how to create and use custom brush categories for your custom brush variants, read the following:

Painter IX Help > Help Topics > Contents tab > Customizing Brushes

On the right panel, click the link named "Managing Custom Brushes".