PDA

View Full Version : Game Character Polysurface...

Firelark
12-25-2005, 12:45 PM
Hello, I hope this isnt an stupid question, if it is feel free to tell me off :scream:. I'm about to make a game character for a fictitious PS3 game, (its a school project).

My question is: IN GENERAL, is it ok to mix triagles and quads for the polygon surface of the character? Or should I stay with only triangles or only quads? Or doesnt it matter?

- Karl

InAction
12-25-2005, 12:55 PM
I don't think my opinion counts at all (as I'm a total amateur) but I think it doesn't matter too much. There's alot more of other things that needs to take into consideration. ^^;

MrWaRrDoG
12-25-2005, 01:06 PM
Wel I think it doesn't matter because it's a gamecharacter. You will need to convert to tris eventually (either you or the game engine does). If you're going to smooth it or animate it, it's best to convert to either all quads or all tris...
Pro-modelers: correct me if i'm wrong

Aggroblakh
12-25-2005, 04:42 PM
I believe its better to model in quads because it makes normal mapping, triangle stripping and other technical things a bit easier. Also, quads seem to hold up better under deformation, so personally I would go with quads. I've seen people use triangles though, so don't take my sole opinion.

RmachucaA
12-25-2005, 05:00 PM
ANY object or thing exported to the game engine is automatically converted to TRI's, so no use in discussing if quads are better.

Firelark
12-25-2005, 05:31 PM
Thanks for the info guys. I've always heard that one should stick with quads for the sake of good deformations, however I think it is quit useful to be able to alow both tris and quads. Indeed, if the model is going to be converted to triangles then there's no problem.

I realised that I might have posted in the wrong place on this forum, appologize for that.

- Karl

ChimpanG
12-25-2005, 09:21 PM