PDA

View Full Version : layer mask


LouisCho
12-22-2005, 05:15 PM
I am working on a tutorial from 3D total find here: http://www.3dtotal.com/team/tutorials/jozef/jozef2.asp

I can't figure out the step 3. How can I add the image mask on the layer after I clicked on add a mask?

thanks

spmonahan
12-22-2005, 06:23 PM
How can I add the image mask on the layer after I clicked on add a mask?


Basically you have to have a selection made and then click the add mask button.

One way to do this would be to paste the image you want to use as a mask into an alpha channel, ctrl+click the alpha's thumbnail to get a selection and then click the create mask button.

If you want to add the image after the fact I believe you must use a brush and paint it.

BlueFlare
12-22-2005, 08:02 PM
I can't figure out the step 3. How can I add the image mask on the layer after I clicked on add a mask?
Poorly writen tutorial, no wonder why you have difficulties Louis.
The author doesn't mention that he needed an image for the mask, so it's my assumption that you have to add the mask and paint the content yourself.

LouisCho
12-22-2005, 11:30 PM
thanks, i will explore the thing a little bit more. maybe i will find another solution

thanks again

berniebernie
12-23-2005, 02:31 PM
you have to copy your alpha layer into the mask, all explained here: http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=290136&highlight=mask

Jack Youngblood
12-23-2005, 08:26 PM
masks are a vital part of PS. The more you know about them the better.

Luck!

CGTalk Moderation
12-23-2005, 08:26 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.