PDA

View Full Version : Xpresso - scaling a polygon


pgrooff
12-21-2005, 02:42 PM
Is it possible to scale (or move) polygons in Xpresso?
E.g. I made a cube editable and now want to scale the top polygon.
I know you have access to point is Xpresso, but how to handle polygons?

Srek
12-21-2005, 03:19 PM
Hi,
the polygon node will give you the points that define it. By modfiying those points you can change the polygon to your likeing.
Cheers
Björn

pgrooff
12-22-2005, 09:03 AM
Ok, but how to scale points?
A polygon is easy to scale, but points?

Srek
12-22-2005, 09:37 AM
You can't scale a single point, it has no dimensions, it is only a position information. Scaling a group of points works just like scaling a polygon.
Cheers
Björn

pgrooff
12-22-2005, 09:58 AM
So how should I scale a number of points (= polygon) then ?
I know how to get one point, but not how to get a number of points and then scale them.

Glædelig Jul / Merry Xmas

Srek
12-22-2005, 10:09 AM
That should be done in coffee. Get the coordinates, calculate a center or set it by hand and make the coordinates local to that center (just subtract the center coordinates for all point coordinates). Now you only have to scale those position vectors by a common factor. After this retransform those local coordinates to the normal coordinates (add back the center position)
Cheers
Björn

pgrooff
12-22-2005, 11:52 AM
Thanks for the explanation.
Coffee is not in my 'sight' (yet), so I try something else.

CGTalk Moderation
12-22-2005, 11:52 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.