PDA

View Full Version : Giving cloth the extra thickness


darktding
12-16-2005, 02:59 PM
I was wondering if anyone knows how to cheat thickness in cloth through renderman shaders?
I think one can pull it off by using some clever normal technique but I do not know how.
Thanks in advance

Mauritius
12-20-2005, 10:07 PM
Just displace your cloth outwards execpt at the edge where you let the function fall off (e.g. into an elliptical 90 deg. arc. that goes to zero).
Another option is to shade the cloth primitives twice -- in your RIB tag them with:


Attribute "sides" "int doubleshaded" [1]


which will call your shader wtice, once for the frontside (N) and once for the backside (-N).

Cheers,

Moritz

CGTalk Moderation
12-20-2005, 10:07 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.