PDA

View Full Version : How long to create a Flash site?

Kieguy
11-24-2002, 10:06 PM
Just to say again...thanks for the new Flash forum!!

I need to make my own portfolio site :surprised and have been planning to do it as an all-flash site, so the more inspiration, links and tips, the better. Hopefully I can have something to show in the next couple of months or so....I hope. I fear it will take me longer than I even imagine and wonder if I should just "give in" and do it all in html. I have several years experience in Flash but would say I'm a mid-level actionscripter...OK, more on the newbie end of mid-level. Been studying some to take it to the next level...I think I can do it if I put my mind to it. Just worried about the time factor...

Which brings up a question for all who have created their own all-flash sites: about how long has it taken you? and what level of flash/actionscripting would you say you were at when you started the project? Links to site(s) you're referring to would be appreciated.

This may be a loaded or silly question, so I appreciate all the more any feedback at all. OK..OK...this could be looked at as a thinly veiled fishing-for-encouragement thing too!

Fuzatron
11-24-2002, 10:42 PM
I'm sure you know the time depends on how complex and "designy" you want it to be. But you shouldn't need anything beyond basic action-scripting to get a "flashy" self-promo/ portfolio site done. If you need something that calls for some heavier action-script, I would go to someplace like FlashKit.com and adapt some of the code available there to work within your design... While tweaking the code to do what you want helps you to learn as well.

When the DotBomb I was working for bombed over 2yrs ago I created my site in less than a week (concept to completion). But suddenly losing your job and having a new house to pay for is some serious motivation :p

Feel free to check it out...
I haven't updated it in about 2yrs or so though :hmm: