PDA

View Full Version : Particle Collisions?

Tiziano
12-14-2005, 08:48 PM
Is it possible to change a particle's color once it collides with another particle?

Basically I have two emitters that point at each other. Once the particles from each emitter hit each other I'd like them to change color while the remaining particles stay the same.

So far I think this is a TP problem for which I'm still learning.
I've tried a simple Xpresso collision node but it seems I'm missing something in concept as I'm unable to succeed.

Can someone put me on the right track with this or is it even possible to do in the first place?

Tiziano
12-14-2005, 09:05 PM
I 'may' have found the answer over here:
http://bonkers.de/tp/knowhow.html#singleout

Srek
12-15-2005, 07:58 AM
Yes, thats your basic solution. In case of a collision it depends on how you handle the collision. If you do it with a PPassAB node with a detection radius just put the particle from the Pass you want in a different group, if you use some other setup to detect the collision just use the very same result to trigger a PGroup node to switch the particles from one group to another.
Cheers
Björn

Tiziano
12-15-2005, 03:42 PM
Thanks Srek,
I tried a bit last night but no luck yet.
When I get home from work I'll give it another shot :thumbsup:

Tiziano
12-17-2005, 01:52 AM
Well, I can't figure out the collisions :banghead: .
I'm finally able to get two emitters to emit colored particles (thanks both to Srek's site and some at C4dCafe :thumbsup: ) but I can't seem to figure out how to detect a collision between particles from each emitter.

:shrug: Wondering though whether I'm approaching this correctly? Would I be better off comparing distance rather than looking for a collision?

Anyway, attached is the current file to show my route.

Srek
12-17-2005, 09:55 AM
Hi,
you are trying to use two seperate PPass nodes for this, this can't work.
Take a look here for more oinfo on this: http://www.bonkers.de/tp/knowhow.html