PDA

View Full Version : Details on Ghibli's Next Movie - Ursula K Le Guin's Earthsea

monsterboy
12-13-2005, 06:35 PM
Ghibli's next movie will be an adapation of Ursula K Le Guin's "A Wizard of Earthsea". Titled Gedo Senki (Gedo War History) it will be directed by Miyazaki. Well, his son anyway. This will be the first movie directed by Goro Miyazaki. According to Goro's production diary Miyazaki Senior is not happy about this at all.

I haven't read the books, so I don't know what to expect but any Ghibli movie gets my attention but the idea of Miyazaki's son directing seems a bit like a publicity gimic. Especially as he is not an animator by trade...hmm

A poster for the movie (released in Japan in July 2006) can be seen here (http://www.ghibli.jp/images/ged_poster01.jpg)

Ondrayce
12-13-2005, 07:48 PM
According to Goro's production diary Miyazaki Senior is not happy about this at all.

Any idea why?

CupOWonton
12-13-2005, 07:50 PM
Chances are it'll be better than the EarthSea Scifi channel series, right?

Bonedaddy
12-13-2005, 08:03 PM
Any idea why?

He wanted his son to be a dentist? :shrug:

monsterboy
12-13-2005, 08:05 PM
Any idea why?

I haven't found a definitive answer (the production site is in Japanese obviously), but I suspect it's because Goro Miyazaki has gone from being the director of the Ghibli Museum to animation without any animation experience. Miyazaki is either concerned that he doesn't know what he's getting himself into or he simply doesn't agree with his son's change of career. He may also think it stinks of nepotism.

SpiralFace
12-13-2005, 08:13 PM