PDA

View Full Version : Channel attributes Custom Shelf.


JellyFire
12-12-2005, 10:52 PM
Hey there, this is a long shot but if anyone can help on this it would be great!
I'd like to be able to use a window to rename channel attributes and set a min
and max value on them. It will help me, and i'ms ure many others in rigging.

This is how I would like it to work.
Select an attribute (rotateX for instance) click a shelf button or hit hotkey to
bring up a window that will allow me to change (or alias) it's name and then
set min,max,default value. Click ok/accept button to complete and close.

Is this a simple thing to do?
Any takers?

Thanks for any help.
JellyFire.

Mikademius
12-12-2005, 11:10 PM
This should be rather easy to set up.
I think you'll have a hard time renaming the defaults one because they are holy...

However attributes you have added yourself is easy to modify.
So if that will do it I could write you the code. No originals, only custom...
Unless someone knows of a way to modify the original ones of course :)

JellyFire
12-12-2005, 11:22 PM
Thanks for the help!!!
I'm always amazed at how quickly people are to respond to requests!
Thank you!

Well I don't need to rename defaults but you can alias the name instead.
I've done it before on the Translate, Scale and Rotate channels to give
them a custom name like knee or something.

The Min Max value is just this script isn't it?
transformLimits -ry 90 -90 -ery 1 1 pCylinder1;

let me know hows it's going if you will ;)
Thanks again!
JellyFire

Mikademius
12-12-2005, 11:30 PM
I could craete a window which listed the attributes.
Then it will allow you to select the attribute from this list and then set the new name and values in their own textfields. These values will replace the values this mesh already has.
I can't script it today ( It's 00:30 AM here Tuesday ) How about Wednesday? (My wednesday :) Norway )

transformLimits -ry 90 -90 -ery 1 1 pCylinder1;
Withot testing : It looks reasonable, but you shouldn't bind the command to a specific object, but a user defined selection. (I know you just threw an example out here, but just to point that out. That's why I think my approach will be fulfilling enough :bounce: )

Morganism
12-13-2005, 12:21 AM
Well I don't need to rename defaults but you can alias the name instead.
I've done it before on the Translate, Scale and Rotate channels to give
them a custom name like knee or something.


I didn't think this was possible....could you elaborate? That would be rad.

JellyFire
12-13-2005, 12:43 AM
something like this.
Check mel Reference.

aliasAttr newName object.rx;

Later

Mikademius
12-13-2005, 12:56 AM
Worked like a charm :) :)

Morganism
12-13-2005, 01:32 AM
Brilliant!

Thanks for that, sorry for hijacking the thread.

CGTalk Moderation
12-13-2005, 01:32 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.