PDA

View Full Version : text resolution for print

Brandt
12-07-2005, 05:17 AM
I have some questions about getting a brochure ready for print.

I'm putting together a brochure that contains both images and text. I'm working in photoshop (not sure if that's the ideal software for this) and I know that I should be working at 300 ppi for images and I think 1200 ppi for text. I'm not experienced in this, so I could be wrong. I've created my file in photoshop to be 11.25" x 8.75" @ 300 ppi (3375 x 2625). Now I'm just not sure what to do so that the text is set up properly and high enough resolution for print.

What formats do you normally save as to be sent to a printer? If I just flatten my photoshop file and save it as a tiff, for example, then the text just becomes part of the image and therefor only 300 ppi.

So, basically I'm wondering how to keep the text separate from the rest and have it at the proper resolution for printing.

If anyone has any advice on how to do this I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

anibal187
12-07-2005, 07:02 AM
Argh crap, I erased the reply before posting it... so here I go again:

The best would be to place the text on illustrator, this way the resolution of the text will be the best for the output method.

What formats do you normally save as to be sent to a printer? If I just flatten my photoshop file and save it as a tiff, for example, then the text just becomes part of the image and therefor only 300 ppi.
.pdf, If you don't have acrobat professional you can convert the file online. Check the adobe site. (http://createpdf.adobe.com/?v=AHP)

Tiff is ok if the text is big.
The best thing to do would be to ask your printer (the person, not the machine :)) about this kind of stuff since it depends on the final output (is it Offset?)

halo
12-07-2005, 12:26 PM
yes, PS isn't the best place to do text in...better off doing it in something like illustrator, indesign or quark etc

David_Web
12-07-2005, 02:26 PM