PDA

View Full Version : XSI to 3dmax


Eleclerc
02-27-2002, 11:33 PM
Hi,

I'm modelling in XSI and I would like to export it in 3dmax.
How can i proceed?

Thank you!

Flynn
03-02-2002, 05:27 PM
you may have to use a conversion program. I would recomend PolyTrans. I used it a long time ago so I'm not sure if they added anything for XSI in a newer version. But if they did you can bet it will keep everything in your scene (or most anyway)

I know this is not a cheap or easy solution but thats all I can think of at the moment.

bentllama
03-14-2002, 05:38 AM
try doing it with IGES

or a simple OBJ could do the job

rendermonkey23
03-14-2002, 06:00 AM
hehe, Ed Harris covered this same exact topic about 28 times :)

Just goto "net view>tools>convert". It's a .obj converter. But there's a catch... when you import into max... you wont see your mesh (it's WAYYY to small). Soo, just pick the "uniform" scale tool and grow. GROW LIKE YOU'VE NEVER GROWN BEFORE :)

Hope that helps

MadS
03-24-2002, 02:02 AM
OBJ seems the only way to go for now.

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 02:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.