PDA

View Full Version : farm aid for student!

btha8086
12-06-2005, 12:27 PM
hi. i'm a student learning 3d and i'd like to build a very small render farm. i receive +school credit+ (!!very important!!) if i'm able to build a _successful_ farm which significantely decreases rendering time. i'm being offered 3 ibm netfinity servers (specs below) for a discounted price. but i'm wondering if the hardware is even worth the LARGE amount of time it would take for me to pick them up and the painful dent it would put in my excruciatingly tiny student budget (we've all been there haven't we?). i know it's hard to say if these nodes will preform well without knowing what a project entails, but assuming it's 'intermediate level' modeling using maya or else basic vfx with after effects+photshop/illustrator+3d studio max...will these work?

+++please help with ANY suggestions, tips or nods in the right direction. i'm very confused+++

specs:
each unit contains
- a quad motherboard running 4x500mhz xeons with either 1mb or 2mb L2 cahce per cpu
- 1 gb ram
- gigafast nic

total: 12x500mhz xeon (1mb/2mb L2) and 3 gb ram.

THANK YOU SO MUCH.

deathman20
12-06-2005, 06:15 PM
While its not that powerful of systems, its the question of how much you can get it for? It of course will help in render times, and pretty decently with that amount of processors.

Guess its really relys on how much it costs overall. Can you give us numbers of how much it will run?

SweetDreamz
12-06-2005, 11:53 PM
What's the price?

btha8086
12-07-2005, 10:10 PM
first off, thanks for the response. i was feeling like a chicken running around with his head cut off until i started posting =)

the costs is $150 plus another $60 for a 1 gig upgrade. the other problem is that it's going to take me almost a full day hauling these servers in my 2 door honda =D (circa B.C.).