PDA

View Full Version : new to painter

StuJ
11-24-2005, 12:43 PM
just a quick one , how do you create a custom brush in this package???? I can do it in sec's in PS but I just seem to get lost in here.

cheers.

stu

Philippec
11-24-2005, 02:52 PM
just a quick one , how do you create a custom brush in this package?

1. Modify a brush to be the way you want it.

2. In the Brush Selector palette, click on the little black triangle at the right edge. In the popup menu, choose "Save Variant".

3. There is no step 3. :)

Kaspaas
11-25-2005, 12:06 AM
Hi Stu. I'm pretty new to all the brush creating stuff in Painter myself, but here's what I've discovered so far. There is a custom brush creator ('show brush creator') section under your "window" drop down menu. Shortcut = Ctrl+B. You can customize a bit more settings I think if the way Philip explained does'nt quite do it. Something else I found quite usefull was creating nozzles for the image hose. Simply create to or more layers with what you want in your layer and then group those layers. Go to your nozzle library (bottom right of left hand toolbar). Once opened, click on little arrow on the top right of the window. Select 'make nozzle from group', and there you go. Then simply load it when you want to use it. I usualy create my group in a specific shape (eg. circular) to have more control over the nozzle (once you build up knowledge on nozzles, you can create nozzles with tilt , roll presure sensitivity and loads more variables). One last thing that I find extremely usefull is to make custom palettes of my favourite brushes. Nothing could be easier, you simply select a brush from the library, or your custom brushes (lets say main tool: Airbrush, and type: Graffiti) Once selected you simply click on the little airbrush icon again and drag it anywhere on your work area. It does not seem like its dragging it, but as soon as you release your stylis or mouse button you'll have an instant custom menu to which you can add oth