PDA

View Full Version : hdri flicker

adrian haynes
11-23-2005, 09:28 PM
i've been getting a weird flicker with hdri lighting in mental ray. It started when I switched from 6.5 to 7. I'm doing exactly what I did in 6.5 to render, but i get this error. I'm including a gif of a few frames, its easiest to notice if you look at the half sphere element at the top of the robot.

I'd appreciate any help, as I am somewhat new to mental ray, and hdri.

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a379/adrianhaynes/Comp1.gif

adrian

revilo3D
11-24-2005, 06:30 AM
are you using indirect lighting with your HDRi or is your HDR emitting light?

adrian haynes
11-26-2005, 05:08 PM
i have my hdri emitting light, no other lights in the scene

eddgarpv
11-26-2005, 06:10 PM
I've had the same issues with diffuse passes using IBL nodes emitting light and the solution in my case was to use higher values in Quality U and V.

adrian haynes
11-26-2005, 06:19 PM
i tried boosting up the quality u v to 1024 already, and I still get the error.
i'll try turning it up even higher and rendering again to make sure.

adrian haynes
11-26-2005, 06:41 PM
boosted it to 2048 and still no luck

revilo3D
11-26-2005, 09:13 PM
i personally perfer to completely scrap IBL light emission .. it is far to intensive. U and V is baasilly diviiding up the HDR into lights into that value i believe.. eg.. sampling 1024 in u and v is like having 1048576 lights in your scene , which is totally overkill and gives you the horrible render times you must be having.

The best option is to sample the HDR and create a light source of your own from the HDR. Similar to that lie a dome light rig. The results work great and is much faster. Look into IBL tools to do this... this will give you the option to create a light rig that matches your HDR, either via a traditional dome lighting rig or a new mental ray light.. that works in a similar fashion.

I think it should solve any flicker problems you may be having too :)

adrian haynes