PDA

View Full Version : First female character. C+C needed, especially on mesh

SupRore
11-19-2005, 06:12 PM
This is my first attempt to model a female. Concept is based around a UT2003/4 character.

Rather incomplete, but I could really use some critiques on what i have of the mesh.
http://tinypic.com/fvz6e9.jpg
http://tinypic.com/fvz6t2.jpg

Made in 3dsm7.
1100 polys so far on Emesh.

Slythis
11-20-2005, 06:53 AM
so far everything looks good, the shape is nice, and has a good style, only real crit so far is on the mesh where the legs join the hip, your pulling a couple polies up, you should problably clean that and make it flow more nicely into the hip. Otherwise great work so far man, can't wait to see the rest.

SupRore
11-21-2005, 03:51 AM
Small update, of dubious quality. :shrug:
http://tinypic.com/fxh2qw.jpg
C+C needed even more, now.

Far more. :sad: I'm fairly convinced the torso (armor)'s a mess; any critiques/suggesions on ways to fix it?

nibbuls
11-22-2005, 01:33 AM
I assume you want the armor to follow the contours of the breast... If I'm right, then instead of cutting out the breast from the chest, use half of a sphere and attach it to the torso.

It looks as if you're having a difficult time with the meshflow (Maybe it's just too early to comment on that'n). Are you following a reference?

Augh
11-22-2005, 07:54 AM
Armour; To misquote an awesome chara artist known as b1ll; Any and all polys which aren't giving form to your model, you can afford to ditch completely. The mesh is pretty dense all around the torso area especially in terms of vertical edges, so you might look at what you can afford to dump off there. As to the shape, the breastplate seems ok to me, maybe a little vague but no problems I don't have myself maybe too much to really be able to see hehe.