PDA

View Full Version : Critique DaddyMack's first reel

DaddyMack
11-14-2005, 07:10 PM
Hi guys, I've been doing 3d as a hobby for 5 years and I currently work freelance in graphic design, as well as the odd 3d gig here and there... It's looking like I can finally move my freelance work further over into 3d... Sooo... Here's my first showreel... I'd really appreciate any critique you guys have for it with regards to well... anything... :beer:

My primary focus is on character design, modelling and animation... and of course cheeky fun;)

Here's a some shots from the reel
http://www.brainchilddigital.com/misc/reelshot.jpg

And here, of course is the reel

17mb Quicktime 2min30 (http://www.brainchilddigital.com/misc/Mackreel2005.mov)

I'd really appreciate hearing what impression it gives you guys of both me and my current skillset...

Cheers:beer:

DaddyMack
11-17-2005, 06:42 PM
Is it my new avatar?... Anyone wanna chime in over here? Even if it's only to tell me why they don't really wanna chime in... I'd love to hear what you folk think of my first reel...

Anyone?

:wavey:

ESLAMSPOT
11-17-2005, 10:11 PM
gooooooooooood work

ivanisavich
11-17-2005, 10:57 PM
Well I'll warn you ahead of time...I'm going to give it to ya straight up since you asked for it!

The animation needs a ton of work.

-shot 1 (alien dancing): not only was there no real focus to the character's movement....but he just seems to be gyrating all over the place and it looks really bad (not to mention that his junk is hanging out...but whatever :)) Also...there's no finger animation at all so it doesn't look finished. Remember....the first few seconds of your reel are your ONLY chance to make a good first impression to future employers! Right now a good first impression just aint happening

-the alien model isn't really a marvel in itself at all....so having all of the model shots after the first animation is pretty unnecessary