PDA

View Full Version : Help! Texture Render Problem

yrd4snd
11-11-2005, 06:57 PM
WHY DOSEN'T THE HAIR TEXTURE COME THROUGH? I am new to maya, i've got the basics down for modeling, renering has me stumped. i modeled a poly plane and added the hair texture on it, but when i render it it won't come throught,the more i mess with it i end up loosing my default color on everything. i am using maya 4.0(will up grade later). i have found some tutorials, but none for a true beginer, when it comes to the render portion i am a complete idiot, forgive me. any help would be help would be greatly apreaciated. thanks will

yann22
11-11-2005, 11:48 PM
it would be helpful if you could you post a screenshot of your Hypershade, cheers

yrd4snd
11-12-2005, 09:43 AM
here it is (i Think) please keep in mind i am very new to this portion of the program. thank you for you responce. will

yann22
11-14-2005, 02:42 PM
hi, sorry, have not been on my comp over the w/end:

it looks fine to me - a file node going into the color input of a blinn, right?

a few things to try/check:

- when you mouse over the arrow going from the file node to the blinn, do you get "outColor" on the left and "color" on the right side of the arrow?

- what file format are you using, maybe Maya 4 has problems with it?

- the hair is a seperate object, right? select the hair in the viewport and click on the "graph materials on selected objects" button (the blue and green one): does the hair material show up in the work-area?

- try assigning a new Blinn to the hair:

- delete the shading network you saw in the step above,
- create a new "blinn" material and assign it to the hair by dragging it with the middle-mouse button pressed from the Hypershade onto the hair-geometry in the viewport (you'll see a plus sign),
- select the hair geometry in the viewport,
- press ctrl+a to get the attribute editor,
- click on the panel named "blinn",
- click on the checker button next to the color entry,