PDA

View Full Version : in need of a script for max 8


vio69
11-11-2005, 02:26 PM
I want a script that lets me chamfer while keeping the existing edge. Anyone have a free one or know how to make one...

cecofuli
11-11-2005, 02:46 PM
Already exist, Solid Chanfer from Meshtools, but in max 8 don't work :D

vio69
11-12-2005, 01:17 AM
any chance someone knows how to fix meshtools for max 8????....specificly solid chamfer....I used that alot

Blue
11-12-2005, 01:37 AM
Is the effect you are looking for like doing a poly extrude edge, with a 0 (zero) height? Could you share a pic of the desired result.

Zbuffer
11-12-2005, 06:26 AM
Hi,
to make it work in Max8,
In the file Meshtools3-Functions.ms or Meshtools-Functions.ms (in stdplugs/stdscripts)
replace the line:
polyop.chamferEdges thisObj theseEdges 0.001
by
thisObj.editablePoly.chamferEdges 0.001

Note: This is very strange :

create a box, convert to poly
polyop.chamferedges $ #{1} 1.0
->-- Argument count error: chamferVerts wanted 4, got 3
chamferVerts ??? 4 aruments ???
anyone has a clue ?

DerPapa
11-16-2005, 01:25 PM
blue, this is what zbuffer is talking about:
http://ground-studios.de/stuff/meshtools/img/09-solidchamfer.jpg

solid chamfer is crucial when defining edges! and I need it too for max8!
It would be great if someone with some script experience would take a short look into this issue?!

cheers
Michael

DerPapa
11-16-2005, 01:58 PM
ok, now I got it. of course I tested it the script change with a converted box :argh: and got the error. but in general, it seems to work. But is much slower on higher poly geometry, IMHO

thanks
Michael

Blue
11-16-2005, 03:56 PM
blue, this is what zbuffer is talking about:
http://ground-studios.de/stuff/meshtools/img/09-solidchamfer.jpg

solid chamfer is crucial when defining edges! and I need it too for max8!
It would be great if someone with some script experience would take a short look into this issue?!

cheers
Michael

The end result there looks exactly the same as a poly edge extrude with a zero height. That should be fairly easy to implement as a script. Thanks for sharing a pic. When I have a moment I will try to throw something together.

vio69
11-17-2005, 12:54 AM
excellent...works again....thank you very much

Martin Andersen
11-17-2005, 10:38 AM
or try take a look on "chamfer madness" on scriptspot.. a script i wrote for a year or to ago

cheukpau
12-28-2005, 03:37 PM
hi. could anyone tell where is the meshtool. i can't find it from 3da max 7

DerPapa
12-29-2005, 11:22 AM
here you go: http://www.scriptspot.com/download.asp?ID=2432&inf=1

cheers
Michael

javierdl
01-10-2006, 07:12 PM
" replace the line:
polyop.chamferEdges thisObj theseEdges 0.001
by
thisObj.editablePoly.chamferEdges 0.001"

Zbuffer,

I changed the text line you suggested to make Meshtools work in Max8 but after running the script from maxscript it still didn't show anywhere.
Maybe I am not installing it correctly...This is what I did:
1. from maxscript clicked on "run script"
2. look for "Meshtools3-Functions.ms" and run it
this is it!
Of course, after that I try to create a toolbar with it but I can't find Meshtools in the categories.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,

DPC

CGTalk Moderation
01-10-2006, 07:12 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.