PDA

View Full Version : Jungle Village(WIP)


dbullat
11-11-2005, 02:27 AM
Hello,
This is my first post and my first actual attempt on creating a large environment. Alot of work went into the concept including many sketches and some small clay maquettes.
I wanted to create an environment that mixed some King Kong's Skull Island a little Robinson Crusoe and of course Tarzan. I still have alot of work to go and can post some of my other sketches and models if you all are interested.

Dave B.

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c26/dbullat/hut1.jpg
<p>
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c26/dbullat/hut2.jpg
<p>
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c26/dbullat/pig_chicken.jpg
<p>
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c26/dbullat/veggie_garden.jpg

pimeto
11-11-2005, 08:40 AM
do you have some polycount limitations ?
because you realy can optimize your mesh more! :lightbulb

you have 5 sided polys on the mesh?!
you can optimize your windows on the huts, etc. you can make them separate objects, and just collide them into one! this is not problem for game engines. you will save a lot of polys ;) that you can "invest" somewheare else ;)


check on the images, i pointed what i mean if you dont understand me ;)
http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/2139/hut26md.th.jpg (http://img481.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hut26md.jpg)
http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/6601/veggiegarden2ph.th.jpg (http://img481.imageshack.us/my.php?image=veggiegarden2ph.jpg)

toebee_1
11-11-2005, 12:36 PM
I am just emphasizing the previous post. Make the windows seperat objects. Leads to more optimal poly counts, as well as an easier and usually more optimized texture as well. And yes, it works fine for game, we do it all the time at work.

Littleberu
11-11-2005, 01:56 PM
I am just emphasizing the previous post. Make the windows seperat objects. Leads to more optimal poly counts, as well as an easier and usually more optimized texture as well. And yes, it works fine for game, we do it all the time at work.

Sorry to interfer, but could you explain it a little bit more please? Anyone?

Jec1183
11-11-2005, 02:34 PM
To explain what everyone has pointed out till now. In game engines they are looking for either polys or tris. In most cases the engine will convert everything to tris. Being this is the case those 5 sided polygons will create problems in the future. Modeling the windows into the same mesh causes problems where poly count in concerned. First you have to decide how the polys will flow into the mesh and add more edges to your model. This just raises the poly count. Then you also end up running into the same problem that was pointed out. You start with all quads then you add some detail and become unsure of how to keep them quads or don't want to venture into adding tris. Ultimately this process just adds useless amounts of polys that could be used for something else.

What they mean by making the windows seperate objects and attaching them later is that an engine won't notice the difference. This allows you to save on the edges necessary to connect the windows in the mesh. Just make a box and shape it the way you want for a window and then just slide it into place on your mesh.

Sorry if I am hijacking the thread but here is one of my models where the flack jacket is one model but the boxes on the front which are pouches are just two boxes attached to the jacket.

http://www.3dmodelmaniac.com/Chapman%20Shinobi%20ScreenShots%20For%20Web/Chapman%20Shinobi%20Per%20for%20web.jpg

dbullat
11-11-2005, 03:59 PM
thanks for the reply, ill definately optimize my models a little more. I admit lots of the models arent yet finished and I have to clean them up.

CGTalk Moderation
11-11-2005, 03:59 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.