PDA

View Full Version : Clip Mask?


duderender
11-10-2005, 07:55 AM
Does C4D have a clip mask functionality? I'm not talking about alpha channels, but a way to do clip geometry based on an image map.

My example would be like a dynamic cross-section that I would like to animate. Take a car, I want to slice through the car body so that you can see its cross section but the internal components are not clipped.

In lightwave it was usually done with a plane that can clip geometry.

moka.studio
11-10-2005, 08:22 AM
Does C4D have a clip mask functionality? I'm not talking about alpha channels, but a way to do clip geometry based on an image map.

My example would be like a dynamic cross-section that I would like to animate. Take a car, I want to slice through the car body so that you can see its cross section but the internal components are not clipped.

In lightwave it was usually done with a plane that can clip geometry.


Can"t you just use a boolean, - if the body has no thckness , then setting the boole to A-without-B
what do you mean by "clip geometry based on an image map." btw, I have never seen such a function -

duderender
11-10-2005, 08:33 AM
for a visual example.

booleans, yeah i suppose...

http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/tutorials/animation/clip-map/index.html

moka.studio
11-10-2005, 08:44 AM
that is a nice function.
Akaik ther is no equivalent in c4d. - would be usefull.

Do you nkoe the camera clipping with a Parallel camera ( just adjust the camera distance, and it will clip things behind it in) - it is much more limited as a function though

vid2k2
11-10-2005, 08:00 PM
Just saw the LW tut and all I can say is that I'm happy with C4D.
If you like I can send you a 2.4MB sequence I just did with a sphere
and a cube showing the same LW sequence you reference. Took all
of a couple minutes.

PS: I'm in no way knowledgable in animation but for a very basic
understanding :)

duderender
11-10-2005, 08:02 PM
Just saw the LW tut and all I can say is that I'm happy with C4D.
If you like I can send you a 2.4MB sequence I just did with a sphere
and a cube showing the same LW sequence you reference. Took all
of a couple minutes.

PS: I'm in no way knowledgable in animation but for a very basic
understanding :)

This is via a boolean? And you can then texture the cut surfaces? Post the sequence, as I am interested.

vid2k2
11-10-2005, 08:10 PM
Yes, very simple and easy. The sequence is a 2.3MB file and I frankly
don't know how to reduce the size to post it here.

I can email it to you as we've talked when I needed some CAD files
converted.

David

PS: zipped= 504KB

vid2k2
11-10-2005, 08:20 PM
that is a nice function.
Akaik ther is no equivalent in c4d. - would be usefull.

Do you nkoe the camera clipping with a Parallel camera ( just adjust the camera distance, and it will clip things behind it in) - it is much more limited as a function though


You're right, C4D doesn't have anything as complicated. C4D is far easier.

duderender
11-10-2005, 09:42 PM
vid2k2, sure dude email me! Never need to ask me, you've got my email.

vid2k2
11-11-2005, 05:28 PM
It's really very simple compared to the number of hoops
that are jumped through with that LW tut.

Please note: No offense to LW. I have LW but prefer C4D:)

CGTalk Moderation
11-11-2005, 05:28 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.