PDA

View Full Version : Viewport Bounding Box Mode


galagast
11-09-2005, 02:34 PM
I ran into a dead end trying to make this work...


rollout test "view" width:136 height:112
(
local bbox = #(#wireFrame, #texture, #zBuffer, #boxmode)
local smth = #(#illum, #Specular, #texture, #zBuffer, #Lighting)
button btn1 "b box" pos:[8,8] width:120 height:40
button btn2 "smooth" pos:[8,56] width:120 height:40
on btn1 pressed do gw.setRndLimits bbox
on btn1 pressed do gw.setRndLimits smth
)
createdialog test


basically, im just hoping to do an imitation of a Bounding Box mode on the viewports...

I also tried placing a gw.updatescreen() to no avail...
Any tips or help would be greatly appreciated :)

(max 6)

j-man
11-09-2005, 05:14 PM
I think you're looking for:


viewport.SetRenderLevel


Josh.

j-man
11-09-2005, 05:16 PM
BTW what's wrong with assigning a hot key to "viwport render level Bounding box"?

< :


galagast
11-10-2005, 12:49 AM
thanks jman, that would have been exactly the command that im looking for.. but it only works for max7 and up.. :sad:

im trying to have an option to set the viewports temporarily to bounding boxes while the script is processeing something...

gw.setRndLimits has an example in the helpfile, but when Im trying it out, it does seem to work (gw.getRndLimits' contents is updated), but the viewport doesnt seem to update with the change...

j-man
11-10-2005, 02:40 AM
oh -- you did say that to!

What you're looking for is :


disablesceneredraw()
enablesceneredraw()


sometimes it's better to say what you're trying to achieve! < :

(I'm pretty sure that's in 6!!!)

Josh.

Blue
11-10-2005, 06:10 AM
oh -- you did say that to!

What you're looking for is :


disablesceneredraw()
enablesceneredraw()


sometimes it's better to say what you're trying to achieve! < :

(I'm pretty sure that's in 6!!!)

Josh.
Fairly sure its always been in. And you are dead on, this is what is needed.

galagast
11-10-2005, 07:10 AM
many thanks for the help guys.

thanks jman, that would have been exactly the command that im looking for.. but it only works for max7 and up..

I was re-reading my post above... i hope i didnt sound mean with the above sentence... (i think i sounded a bit sarcastic) it wasnt really my intention :) :) :) ... I really meant that the viewport.SetRenderLevel was the function that i really needed, (I was looking up "bounding box" so i missed it in the helpfile search)... I found it after jman mentioned it to me, but the helpfile specified it as "new in max 7"... so I can't use it coz im still using 6... :sad:

I'm looking for help in knowing how the gw.setRndLimits works... or another alternative to emitate the Bounding Box mode on viewports...

My last resort would be is to temporarily store boolean values into an array for each object, save thier object and layer boxmode states, set them all to bounding box mode, thus return them to thier previous state using the collected array afterwards...

im doing this because some scenes may be really heavy for the time slider to play through, so an option to view them as temporarily in box mode would help speed up playback...

im really sorry for not being specific enough in my previous posts. :)

j-man
11-11-2005, 02:14 PM
Hey,


No I didn't think you er being sarcastic! no worries at all. I don't have Max6 anymore so it's a little difficult to help you more. Sorry I couldn't help more.

Thanks,

Josh.

galagast
11-12-2005, 09:53 AM
thanks jman, I'm glad things are OK. :thumbsup:

CGTalk Moderation
11-12-2005, 09:53 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.