PDA

View Full Version : Plugin project

Oman83
11-08-2005, 08:01 PM
I'm looking to take advantage of everyone expertise here. I'm in my 4th year of a computer science degree and i'm hoping to create a plugin for maya for my final project.
Below is my general specification. The main thing i want to be able to do is scan in an image such as blue prints or a even a simple scale drawing and from that have the plugin generate the walls very quickly. To do this i will need the system to be able to detect where a user clicks on an image, tell what colour has been clicked on and then identify the rest of the shape formed by that colour. That way if the image is a simple black and white scale drawing and the user clicks on the black walls, the system will be able to isolate the shape of the wall and create it. Then it will just be a cause of adding height to it.
I hope this makes sense. So if anyone could tell me if this is possible it would be a real life saver. If it's not going to be then i need to know soon before i waste several months and fail my degree. :sad:
Thank you so much in advance

--------