PDA

View Full Version : Skin Weight Problem

Ziyun
11-07-2005, 10:49 AM
Hey everyone,

I'm new to using Maya 6.5, and I have no idea what is wrong with my skin weights. When I try and use the paint skin weight tool Maya does not remember the weight. So once I go back to joint that I was working on all the work I had done is reverted back to what it was originally. The odd part is that it only does this for some of the joints. Any ideas on what the problem could be?

john_homer
11-07-2005, 06:43 PM
this happens if you have "hold" on for some joints. this is not reflected in the display while painting, but is when updated (ie, it never changed the weights)

.j

Ziyun
11-08-2005, 04:49 AM
hi j,

I don't think I have hold on the joints. I've turned that option on and off, but the problem persists. Thanks for the tip though.

seven6ty
11-08-2005, 05:47 AM
Are your UV's unwrapped?

Ziyun
11-08-2005, 06:01 AM
yep, they're unwrapped

ruukki
11-08-2005, 07:42 AM
Hi, I've found that Maya usually "remembers" only added skin weights, and only positive values. At least I got it working properly only after I did all of it like that (well, smoothing seems to work too). Explanation: I tried to add negative values to some joint, and after I switched on to painting another joint, the values of the first joint were back or somewhere in-between. So then, if I need a joint to have zero influence on a certain area, I'll paint more influence for another joint(s) until it's fixed. It seems the longer way around but in practice - well, you know already.

If you need to substract a really serious amount of influence on a limb that needs no influence from a certain joint, or, for instance, fingers, which can mess each other up, use the component editor. Pick the vertices that you don't want influenced at all by a certain joint (also works if you want to smooth things more precisely), open component editor, and just fix the values under Smooth skins tab. It works very well, I've noticed.