PDA

View Full Version : A little mystery with glass material

nycL45
11-05-2005, 04:02 PM
While doing some lighting experiments, I came across a mysterious "wall" that bisected the box room and is linked to the glasswall material being used. Delete the plane & glass and it goes away. I'm not a pro with the finer settings and can't see anything in the glass settings that is causing this. Can anyone else see the cause?

Edit: "Old Glass" and colored glass behave similarly.

vid2k2
11-05-2005, 11:42 PM
Hi Leonard, I'm not seeing the wall going away ???

Edit: I moved the glass and added some thickness
for the render. Here's what I got. Email me if you
have further concerns.

nycL45
11-06-2005, 12:07 AM
Hi David, A slight change. With the glass turned on, I have removed the back wall and inserted a cone just beyond the back opening. See the attached. It's Escher like. The glass takes the cone and box end and pulls them forward in the opening while the bottom back edge does not appear to align visually with the lower left rear exterior edge of the box.

You can do this with the file I uploaded.

So it's not a wall but distortion. Does that make sense?

vid2k2
11-06-2005, 12:19 AM
Yes, I see. I covered this anomoly in one of my past posts
dealing with curved glass.
Same solution applies here: add thickness to the glass and
the anomoly disappears.Thickness is needed for the refraction
to work.

Edit: you can also take your refraction back to "1" if you
don't want to add thickness to the glass.

HTH

nycL45
11-06-2005, 12:35 AM
You were spot on, David. Yikes, I should have known it was the plane and not the glass after the same thing happened with six different glass materials. Well, it has been busy and it must be fatique getting to my normally agile 200 teraflop brain.

Are you the only one to encounter this? Has this been covered in the manual or anywhere else?

Thanks for the help.

Per-Anders
11-06-2005, 12:49 AM